Early to Bed Early to Rise


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Hesse » Frankfurt am Main
September 6th 2011
Published: September 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Birds 1Birds 1Birds 1

Some interesting stuffed birds at the Natural History Museum.
It still holds true even if you do wake up in the middle of the night and lay in your bed for 2 hours listening to people roll over in their sleep! Despite waking up a few times during the night I had a good sleep and got up at 7 for breakfast. The fruit salad was not very good, it tasted like it had been sitting too long. Other than that breakfast was very good. I even had half of a flax bun left over to add to my lunch. I went to the U-Bahn station (the underground) and after fighting with the machine for 10 minutes (turning the language to English helped) I got my ticket. The U-bahn station was a bit of a maze and two flights underground. I did manage to find my way to the Bockeneimer Warte Station and after a bit of wandering I arrived at the Natural History Museum as it was opening. It was a FABULOS museum! There were lots of bone fragments of animals that had been reconstructed as well as fabulous stuffed animals and birds. It had a little bit of everything from dinosaurs to apes to sea creatures to insects (I didn’t stay in that room long because they had sound effects of bee’s buzzing around). Many of the signs had English information although there were a few that were purely German. I spent all morning there and after stopping at the grocery store to get something for lunch I headed over to the Explora Museum. It says that it is a Science, (X)(X) Museum but it wasn’t really. It had a lot of 3D pictures, some holographic ones (which were pretty cool) and Brain Teaser ones. (I really don’t know what to call them; they are the pictures where the picture is a rose but if you look closely the rose is made up of lovers for example). It was really not worth the price of admission. I spent the rest of the day wandering around and finding the bus stop that I need to go to in order to catch the bus to the Hahn airport. I did find it and I think that getting there with all my luggage will be doable on the U-bahn. I do want to make the journey again before I have all my luggage though so I know which entrances to take in and out of the U-Bahn maze.



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

LionsLions
Lions

Stuffed Lions at the Natural History museum.
Sea TurtleSea Turtle
Sea Turtle

A mostly reconstructed skeleton of a sea turtle from the Jurasic era.
SkullSkull
Skull

A skull of a Homo habilis. (A species that existed in Kenya before Homo sapiens)
ElephantsElephants
Elephants

This display was mostly in German but the history of the Elephant seems interesting.
SneelepordSneelepord
Sneelepord

Stuffed Snow Leopard.
CeraCera
Cera

This little triceratops reminds me of Cera from the Land Before Time.
Rain Forest 1Rain Forest 1
Rain Forest 1

A small but beautifully done and intricate rain forest.
Diesel 1Diesel 1
Diesel 1

A different message depending on where you stand.
Holographic PhotoHolographic Photo
Holographic Photo

Kind of hard to see but it is a pair of binoculars in the trees.
Holographic Photo 2Holographic Photo 2
Holographic Photo 2

If you move closer to the picture you can see "through" the binoculars and see the bird.
Colored EggsColored Eggs
Colored Eggs

There are real eggs...just fancier!
HauptBanhof 1HauptBanhof 1
HauptBanhof 1

The main Train Station.
Pay PhonePay Phone
Pay Phone

Germany still has lots of payphones!!


6th September 2011

Fabulous museum
Wow!! Looks great Maryanne. I identified a Magpie and a Great Gray Owl in the Bird displays. I'm glad to see you're finding your way around and taking lots of pictures. I love to hear from you. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.333s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb