Bremen


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bremen » Bremen
February 24th 2008
Published: February 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bremen HauptbahnhofBremen HauptbahnhofBremen Hauptbahnhof

Unfortunately not great, but you can see how small it is. And unlike our Hbf, it is not always open!
Hallo an alle,

Joe and I just got back from Bremen, and although I liked it there, I am SO glad to be home (Joe just noticed we have begun to call Hamburg home). Bremen was very beautiful, however not my type of city. It is very scenic there, with beautiful really old buildings dating back as old as 751, and it doesn't look at all like a city; nothing like Hamburg whatsoever. We also discovered upon arrival that there are no U Bahns, at all. We had to take cabs everywhere, but at least they were all Mercedes! Makes sense, since the factory is there. Apparently, as the taxi driver was explaining to us, the water table is too high to have an underground anything. This confuses me, because the city is on the Weser, which flows into the Nordsee. Hamburg is on the Alster, which, correct me if I'm wrong, flows into the Elbe. So why is it possible for us to have such an expansive underground system and they have nothing. Oh well, we got by. On a side note, we had many discussions with the cab driver, in German. It was really cool, because he honestly
ShowerShowerShower

I wish i had this shower, it was pretty much amazing
had no idea we came from the US! He thought we were southern German because of our accents!!! We told him we were living in Hamburg for school and Joe for work, and he asked us how long we had been there. I answered 3 weeks, and he told me that my German was really good! That was of course nice to hear, because I doubt my ability more often than not.

Their "Hauptbahnhof" is really small and we noticed that Hauptbahnhof was on the front of the building.. we joked that it is because you could miss it easily it is so small.... not like ours. Das Rathaus was also very small, but is much older than ours. I believe it was build between 1405 and 1410. There is, however, an extremely impressive Dom (huge church) there which makes ours look pathetic. It had an east and west crypt which was pretty cool (is that ok to say?) And unlike Hamburg, everything is very close together, in one block of the city. It took literally less than an hour to really see everything in the city that was on the tourist map. We also visited Schnoor, which is
bathroombathroombathroom

Montana Hotel Bremen
basically the port side of the city and naturally, I loved it. It was a very nice visit to Bremen, but I have discovered within myself that I require, not to be a little bored, to be in a city with much to do, hustle and bustle, etc. Like my city. It has only been 3 weeks, but I am already 110% a Hamburg girl, through and through : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Cool TV!Cool TV!
Cool TV!

It was nice to finally watch TV after almost a month.. we watched Millionaire in German!
SpiteSpite
Spite

Just for spite. You=Noreaster Us= Sunny skies
Inside St. PetriInside St. Petri
Inside St. Petri

Amazing early gothic architecture
amazing st Petrisamazing st Petris
amazing st Petris

1200 years old
Choir Choir
Choir

Where the Choir was
The BibelgartenThe Bibelgarten
The Bibelgarten

Bible Garden
Das RathausDas Rathaus
Das Rathaus

Ours is bigger : )


27th February 2008

No U-Bahn but Trams
Why you didn't took the trams and busses? There is a pretty good bus and tram system. For longer ways you can also use the regional trains. When I lived in Bremen it was never necessary to take a cab although I hadn't a car.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb