Freaken Bremen???


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bremen » Bremen
November 16th 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We didnát have english class Fridaz morning so we slept in. I woke up and did mz art paper, hung around the house--just relaxed. Around noon it hit me that I should probablz pack for Germanz. Me, sara, and mark were actuallly going to this Bremen place we still werenát sure actually existed. I was being terribly unproductive. I didnát pack, shower, or finish my art paper. and I was leaving at 1.30. whz was our bus elaving at 2 when our flight didnát leave until8? oh, zea, we let a boz bhandle that. haha I finished mz work and started packing, running out of time, i didnát shower. Sara and I got to the bus stop that was taking us to the airport ridiculous early. No mark...Heidi and Andrea were there to go to Barcelona. But no Mark...."Sara, he has the conformation! Why did we let the guy take care of this?" The bus comes...no Mark...we tell our storz to the busdriver who reminds me of Dustin Hoffmanás character in Rainman. He didnát speak verz good english but ended up letting us on anyways...We loved this guz. We took a million "whereás mark?" photos. A few minutes into the trip Mark calls and says he would meet us at the airport, he would take the train.

When the bus got there, there was mark, speed walking to meet the bus smoking a cigarette. Once there we still had almost three hours until we could board. We ate at Oneils had some ice cream and batted the breeze the whole time. I gave in and bought the "If I Did It" the OJ Simpson Confession...I even joined the facebook group saying i refuse to buy it. the only thing that made me feel better about it was that it wasnt published by OJ it was published by Ron Goldmans family. After checking in i started readingt it...It just made me angrz.

We got smoothies in the terminal and they put plastic stirrers in them that were shaped like plastic giraffes (the smootie store was called the Giraffe Café or something like that) Sitting in line, yes, sitting...so we would be one of the first on the plane but did not feel like standing, the little girl behind us fell and hit her head on the ground. none of us saw it but we all heard it and knew it was a head hit...a verz distinct sound.

As I continued reading mz book, we landed and Mark ( being the boy we let handle stuff...why do we let guys take care of things knowing that us as women would have taken much better care of the situation) had no idea how to get to the hostel. He had the receipt. We get on the tram and get off at the center of town and nobodz knws the street we need to get off at. We just start roaming around and everzthing is clsoed. Itás such a cute town. market Platy in the center of town where I could imagine street vendors fill up the cobblestone streets during the day. ÍEverything was closed up and dead. It was after 10. We find an open bar where the menu outside was in all american...we went in and asked for directions figuring someone had to speak english there. After about five or ten minutes of searching the bartender market our map for us. I wanted to go right to the hostel but mark said it was 24 hours so we decided to stay for a drink.

We headed on to find the hostel. We are walking along and see a bar called "Big Ben" It was kind of shady inside but whatever. I got my bloody mary and we alchilled for a little. There were a table of guys who were american and me and sara realized we were the only girls there. So of course we ended up getting a few drinks paid for us. After a few silly events in the bar we don't need to go into, we head off to find the hostel this time. We found the hostel very easily with the bartenders directions at around 1:45, just 45 minutes too late. THer was a blonde chick inside who opened the door for us and I walked in and she not so gently kicked me out and slammed the door in our faces and continued to make out with her boyfriend.

We decided we would just o ou and party, getsome breakfast and checkin in the morning. We walked around for a while looking for a place to o and I don't remember how exactly this happened but we ended up in a strip club. haha That was the only thing that was open 24/7 in Bremen...sex shops and strip clubs. We walked in and it was sort of packed. THere wer people at the bar and the booths were full. Somehow we ended up spending almost two hours there. I don't know how that happened, but it was a warm dry place to waste time other than on the streets.

We went to another club where there were one euro drinks...not bad. After that we were starved. McDonalds was te only place pen so we decided to get breakfast there. Problem is...they werent selling breakfast...WHAT?? I ate so much though because well, i was starved and then i was upset that they weren't serving breakfast or mcflurries. I was going to feel disgusting the next day. I had two double whoppers and chicken selects...yuck ha...but yum at the same time.

We went back to the hostel really ready for sleep now that we were calming down for the night. I traveled all day, walked around thecity with all my stuff, had a few drinks, and ate a lot...it was bedtime for me. The hostel...was still closed! For three more hours none-the-less. I was so tired I didn't care. I plopped down on the steps outside the door and tried o fall asleep with sara curled up around me for protection. I was asleep enough that it felt so good to sit still, but awake enough to stay on gaurd...i love how even though ther was aguy with us, im still who sara clung to. See, mom...I'm good haha

A group of people walked by and I was hoping they were going into the hostel. Mark said they were just walking buy. They ended up coming into the hostel. I think they originally walked by because they didn't know how o climb over the homeless people ha ha...At that point it is exactly how we looked...homeless bums. They let us in and showed us where the ounge was. They didn't really care, they were cool with it. We each grabbed a couch and just died on it. next thing I know it's noon and we were able to check-in. THat couch was so amazing and warm. The guy didn't charge us for the night which was awesome. We dropped our crap off in the room and headed back out. We walked through the market and got lunch at the cafe. our last two days were pretty much just walking around and eating. It was amagnificantly adorable town. It was bitter cld. Like cold to the bone kind of cold. We saw the town musicians. It's from the Grimm Brothers tale. The donkey and the other animals piled ontop of eachother. If you rub the donkey's legs it's good luck. So of course we gave 'em a rub. The color was worn away just like Churchill's foot in the Houses of Parlaiment. It's funny all the little traditions you run into here...well, everywhere.

On sunday everything was closed which we were afraid of. It's so upsetting that we lost a day of our vacation. I actualy got a lot of christmas shopping done here which was good. Me and sara and mark battled sometimes but that is always expected when you spend a lot oftime with just specific people. You start to get on eachothers nerves.

I love how comfortable you fel with an area after only being there a day or two. There's nothing like walking around geting lost to be able to know exactly where you are. It gives you so much confidence. I don't speak German, I've never
random art in the streetsrandom art in the streetsrandom art in the streets

I wanted to buy it so bad it was only 15 euro. But someone snached it before me...plus it probably would have been hard to get home in my bookbag ha
been here but I was getting around perfectly. It makes me feel like maybe, maybe i'll be able to survive in this world...


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb