Burno? Bruno? No..Brun? Burn?


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » South Moravian Region » Brno
November 22nd 2007
Published: November 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I finished the papers I needed to which means I have nothing to stress about on this awesome weekend holiday with CJ. That makes me happy. When I oke up today I laid in bed for half an hour. It was so comfortable and warm and I knew I wasn't going to be comfortable in a bed again...most likely until we got back home Sunday night. (You will find this ironic later) Walking to the tube station I realized how much I enjoy...really enjoy...London in the morning. It's cool and crisp, but the sun warms my cheeks. It even smells nice, like the worlsd hasn't been corrupted by the evils of the day yet. You would think this calm, sweet feeling of morning would be enough to get me out of bed earlier...I just can't do it.

I called mom and dad to say Happy THanksgiving. Plus Jim is working today so this is mom's first holiday without either of her children. It must be weird for her. I know I feel weird not being there. I found myself thinking about Uncle Danny's speech. "Dear Lord, Thank you for all the blesings you have figen us and for keping us safe and bringing us together." He'll then say something about Royn's twins and maybe something about Jimmer being at work and my not being there either. It's weird...im not there. I don't know. That felt like a big moment for me.

As the plane touches down me and CJ realize iit's pitch ark out and we have no clue where we are or where we are going...But yes, Brno really does exist...I swear!, but we still aren't completely sure how to pronounce it. Everyone says something a little different. It said it in big blue letters when we were walking from the plane to the airport. Too bad that was pretty much all we could read. It reminded me of the feelin I got looking at all the signs in Greek. The airport was uper tiny. Surprising considering Brno is the second largest city in the Czech Republic. There was no metro to take us anywhere...every other airport I've been in has a metro right to it? I didn't understand it. It was the first time since Brusssels I felt truely lost. I took out 1000kc. CJ and I had absolutely no idea how much that was worth. It was the second to smallest amount. We figured out later it was a little over 50 dollars. That is weird. We went to the counter and this cute guy helped us and told u to take the bus. We got off at the last stop becuase it seemed like it was bright and happening there. We were still completely lost. We walked down into a underground station and it was like a mini mall and we got confused and walked back up to the street. When we emerged I said "Hey that building looks good" And CJ was like "Hey, look at that one, it's the freaking train station!" I love when things work out like that. We went in and there was a train leaving for Budapest in twenty minutes. We couldn't figure t ou fast enough and missed it. The next train isn't until 2:30am It actually works out so much better becuase we get there at 7am. So we can sleep the whole time and get breakfast when we get there. We bought our 919kc tickets. Thats 50 bucks...online the tickets were coming up as 133 bucks. Quite a difference. I couldn't believe how cheap it was going to be. At this point we still had like eight hours ntil our train pulled out. It was amazing though! We just roamed around the city which was really, really cute. It is winter weather though which I'm starting to get used to. (Oh yea, i forgot o mention that there were snow piles at the airport) Nothing compared to what we are having at home though. We got italian gillato and cake for dinner. And kept walking ater the place closed and we had to leave. Through all the side streets there were christmas arches over the streets with lights on them. It was really cute.

We went into a supermarket and perused until we got kicked out becuase they were closing too. WWe sat outside the supermarket eating our ice cream and candy for dinner, looking like homeless children. A guuy asked us if we needed money. We said no. haha...we were there for like an hour batting the breeze. We got a lot of random glances. We started walking again because my belly wanted something warm like chieken. We got to a KFC and I ate entirely too much. We were sitting there frever talking about everything! I'm so excited to be rooming with her and zach in the spring. Im kind of glad I'm not going to Australia. We got kicked out of KFC(with the adorable girls behind the counter, we loved them. )This was becoming a habit for us. It was the best way to stay warm and waste time though.

I've been thinking of how much I really do miss home. Uncle Danny was right. I'm going to hug everyone for ten minutes when I get there I miss the silly, akward, and embarassing quirks of the family. I never thought in a million years that I would ever say that...Honestly I thought I'd leave, feel a little weird at first, but then never look back. I was growing up and i'd be find out in the world on my own. (well the buble world of college) So much has changed. I can't wait to go back home and see everyone but athe same time, I can't wait to get back out there again. I guess I'm going to have to prepare myself for a million "I told you so's" from everyone. It makes me not want to admit it, but this is all a part of growing up I guess...realizing how you feel changes a lot and being able to admit when you are wrong...and boy, was I wrong.

Advertisement



30th November 2007

Dinner
We did miss you at dinner but next year, if you are here, you will have plenty of stories to tell. Uncle Danny is proud that you remarked on his "speeches". Good luck getting warm again.

Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.04s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb