Potsdam


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Brandenburg » Potsdam
June 29th 2014
Published: June 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I started out this morning wanting to see the martin luther memorial church, sadly when I got there after a 30 minute train ride, it was closed, on sunday?! Oddly enough the church is curreently being used by a catholic church while theirs is undergoing strenuous work. So I had to backtrack back to Friedrichstraße and off to Potsdam!

Potsdam was sucha beautiful baroque city. A stroll through the park there is a must, the Prussian style park was under some construction, closed mondays and sadly when I got there they were closed, apparently the close at 5.30 and I reached it at 5.35. The architecture of the buildings in natur though was simply breathtaking, the one thing that still surprises me is the excessivly large slugs that go around, they seem to be endless and about the size of a thumb or ring finger. Also, the original Brandenburg Gate is in Potsdam, the city is pretty cool all around.

Something funny happened tonight in the hostel, 4 of us watched the world cup together, an Irish lady, a Scottsman, and a man from Chile (I believe), turned out we were all teachers! Tomorrow Germany plays Algeria at 22.00, should be a good game and high scoring for the Germans, I will be at the public viewing again, I found out that one shouldn't have any beverages at the event because once everyone is there it is impossible to move and bathrooms cost .50 €.


Additional photos below
Photos: 198, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb