Berlin: Day One


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
June 13th 2014
Published: June 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day one in Berlin has left me speechless. A beautiful city, with countless activities to do and so far everyone I have met have been nothing but friendly people. My first day, I decided to take a walk around the city to familiarize myself with the streets and know how to get from point a to point b. In comparison to the United States, while walking throughout the city, I realized many differences-- one; almost all the streets are made out of cobblestone and the streets are nicely manicured with trees and plants. Another difference I noticed was that almost all restaurants have an outside patio where people eat outside while enjoying wine and beer. Although the United States claims to be the most modern country, Berlin has shown me otherwise- everything here is modern, tidy, and has a European vibe to it. Everyone I’ve spoken to speaks at least 3 different languages and all the restaurants have their own unique style and there's wine and beer everywhere. The first meal that I tried here in Berlin was the Döner Kebab which is a delicious Turkish dish consisting of spiced lamb cooked on a spit and served in slices, typically with pitta bread accompanied by a beer I bought at KaDeWe which is the largest department store in Continental Europe .


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb