I am a Jelly Doughnut


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 8th 2006
Published: August 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Reichstag DomeReichstag DomeReichstag Dome

I found a new shiny object to admire
Sorry......just amusing myself there. lacking any sort of creative vibe I was set to resort to the standard 'Ich bin ein Berliner' as the title for this entry. However, being the shocking speller that I am (yes Mel, I know.....even with English) I was just doing a quick google check of my spelling (which miraculously I had correct) when I came across a few articles debating whether Kennedy had declared that he was a jelly doughnut, or if (as intended) he had told all that he was 'at one' with the people of Berlin. As it turns out, the same phrase can be used for both - as a Berliner is (or at least was) a popular doughnut in Germany. While I like the idea of the president declaring himself to be a doughnut......of course that isn't how the people of Berlin interpreted his statement. I, on the other hand, am more than happy to have the statement misinterpreted. Mmmmmmmm.....doughnuts!

Just to prattle on a little more before I say anything about my visit - i think that i should explain that I have been to Berlin before. I was there 7 or 8 years ago, and I was fairly
Reichstag Dome IIReichstag Dome IIReichstag Dome II

From the outside
impressed the first time around. but at the time of my visit there was so much going on. There was construction going on everywhere (or so it seemed). I have never seen so many cranes in one place.

So I was curious to come back and see what had resulted from that post-unification building bonanza. I'm saying this because I didn't do all of the 'usual' tourist attractions this time around. I've already seen the Ruin Church, the Wall (or remains thereof), the Brandenburg Gate, as well as many of the museums. So unless i was passing them anyway.....I didn't head back to these places this time around. Instead, I wanted to see the new Berlin. And wow..........they certainly don't do things my halves here. I was in constant admiration of the modern architecture and galleries that have emerged.

Of particular interest to me were:

- the Cupola (new dome roof) on the Reichstag;
- the re-development of the Potsdamer Platz area (conceptulalised and partly designed by Renzo Piano;
- the Film Museum at the Sony Centre (which is part of the Potsdamer Platz development); and
- the Hamburger Bahnhof Museum (an excellent contemporary art museum in
The ReichstagThe ReichstagThe Reichstag

Well worth queueing for - even in the rain!
a converted railway station).

One thing that surprised me on this visit was that things weren't as expensive as I was expecting them to be (after the adoption of the Euro and all). Most of the restaurant meals I had were reasonably priced, but wanting something quick and easy yesterday I opted for a chicken kebap (kebab) and a beer (a bottle) it both set me back a whole €3.20 - that's about $5.30 Australian. Woops........did I just confess to ordering a beer? Surely not!

Anyway, I really only had three full days to re-explore Berlin, and that's simply not enough time to do this city justice. There is so much that Berlin has to offer. I was so busy doing things during the day that I didn't make much effort to venture out in the evenings (which is a pity.....as apparently there is a lot on offer there as well), but I still really enjoyed my stay.

On my enjoyment scale from 1 to 10, where 1 equates to World War II, and 10 equates with World Cup 2006, I would rate my experience with a 9.

I've just arrived back in London. Just a
Hamburger Bahnhof MuseumHamburger Bahnhof MuseumHamburger Bahnhof Museum

Excellent space.....and great art
short stay here before heading home. The last two months have absolutely flown by. I feel like I could do it all again (is that OK Karyn?)...........but looking forward to seeing some familiar faces when I get back.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Inside the new Hauptbahnhof StationInside the new Hauptbahnhof Station
Inside the new Hauptbahnhof Station

Opened just in time for the World Cup
Roof over the Sony CentreRoof over the Sony Centre
Roof over the Sony Centre

Part of the Potsdamer Platz Re-Development


9th August 2006

Yobbo
Kebabs and beer!!!! And is that you wearing a blue singlet in that first photo there?
9th August 2006

happy birthday for tomorrow
hope u have fun

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb