Berlin - Nazi History Bike Tour


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 14th 2013
Published: July 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Is anybody else amazed at the number of cords and plugs we carry around with us? Seriously! I am attempting to live out of a backpack but I have a laptop (power cord and ethernet cord), tablet (power cord), phone (power cord), IPod Nano (power cord and headphones), camera (download cord and battery charger), and a video camera (power cord and download cord). Plus I am carrying 2 universal adapters because I am constantly charging all these gadgets. Its ridiculous.

Things that made me smile today. (1) A nun buys a pretzel from a street vendor in Potsdam Platz. She adds a little mustard and then bows her head and has a little prayer of thanks before digging in. It was nice ... simple and respectful. (2) Also witnessed, 2 young ninas (lets call them 4 and 6) in flowery dresses riding their scooters through the Tiergarden (big park) as mom and pop follow behind. They come upon a huge puddle and the older nina scoots around it. The younger, of course, plows right though. The best part was an instant, just a second, before impact, mom (who clearly knows her younger daughter) shouts after the child in what was surly an admonition to stop. It did not even slow the young nina down.

I have been asked about beer. I can attest to the fact that the beer (or bier) has been terrific, especially the pilsners. I have been in Europe for about a month, and I am pretty sure I have had beer and helados everyday. Truth be told, I am eating a Magnum stick bar as I write this.

I am a huge fan of Fat Tire Bike Tours. Fat Tire is an American company that provides English speaking bike tours of European cities. I have been on Fat Tire tours in Barcelona, Paris and Berlin, and they are terrific (please see the Stone Family blog for a description of the Paris Fat Tire Bike Tour).

In Berlin, in addition to the "general" tour, Fat Tire provides both a "Nazi History" tour and a "Cold War tour." I am taking both bike tours.

Today was the Nazi Bike Tour. The tour was great, but I have to admit I was mad about a missed opportunity. Our guide Rob informed us that on Friday Chief Justice John Roberts, his wife and several secret service agents took the Nazi bike tour. He said CJ Roberts was very nice and asked good questions (just like at oral argument). I feel bad because I am pretty sure that over the course of a 5 hour bike tour, I could have turned CJ Roberts around on Citizens United.

Tomarrow is the Cold War bike tour.

JJF

Advertisement



30th July 2013

cords
Here is my beef with cords - they aren't labeled. Someone could make a lot of money if they could find a way to label cords. I have milk crates of cords and just like keys - you never want to throw them out because one day you need it. I can so see you on the Fat Tire Bike ride with the Chief Justice. He'd somehow find a way to have his bike light blink at you and then turn red to make your questions stop. Sorry you missed the opportunity.
30th July 2013

Cords
Sue, I keep each cord in an individual zip-lock baggie. It helps a lot. I loved your comment about Chief Justice Roberts and the lights.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb