random observations about german style and culture


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 7th 2006
Published: July 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Berlin is amazing. It makes me realize what a small backwater town Seattle is (sorry! but it's true!).

Today I heard the band 2raumwohnung a pop/electronic-y German band on a CD in the Goethe Institute's library and liked them, all you pop music fans should look them up. Later I will go hear a bunch of German bands with Natalie, should be fun, my first real night out on the town in Berlin! I might wear my super hipster platform shoes that make me about 6 feet tall.

A word about Berlin style: Punk style is alive and well here. I have a neighbor who looks like a punked out Cyndi Lauper (sp?)--foot high pink mohawk, super skinny, tons of tattoos, wears black t-shirts and leggings with little black miniskirts and studded belts and rides her bike all around. Other than that the hipsters here are exactly the same as at home. I saw a guy this morning riding a low-rider bike and wearing aviator glasses that was an exact replica of the kind you see in Seattle.

Other random observations and thoughts:
There are no drinking fountains anywhere here. I guess the germans think tap water will kill you. I spend a lot of money buying bottled water.
It is 31 degrees celsius here right now.
German kids speaking german are the cutest thing I have ever seen.
Berliners, like Seattlites, do not jaywalk. In this case, the stereotype about germans obeying the rules is true!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb