getting better all the time


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 5th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have to say, it is so much easier to speak in German today than it was even yesterday, not to mention when I first arrived. I know I'm still screwing up a lot of grammar all the time, but my vocabulary has expanded rapidly and I feel more comfortable putting together sentences. That said, it's still not a possibility (unmoeglichkeit) for me to express anything at all complicated. Its really sort of fun though, at break I stood around with David and tried to tell him about my research interest in the history of sex workers and then he told me about a friend of his who is studying a related topic--this brief exchange probably took 2 or 3 minutes to complete, without going into any detail at all. And we were using the term "Geschlechtarbeiterin," which is a direct translation that I'm quite sure is wrong, and would mean something more like gender workers, which makes no sense. Oh well, its fun anyway and I think constantly about David Sedaris and count my lucky stars that I haven't had to explain Easter and that my teacher does not throw chalk.

Later I'll join my classmates for a party boat ride the school provides for free as an orientation activity, including free beer! Not bad, eh?

Tschuß!

Advertisement



6th July 2006

"No! No! The rabbit of Easter!"

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb