Adventures Abound


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
June 12th 2009
Published: June 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


It has been too long since I have written anything for the blog and I apologize for not doing so before hand. Where have I been and what have I been doing?
I spent ten days in Paris first with Jake and then with Adele and my friend John Bowers. Adele was the French woman who hosted me at her home through Couchsurfing. We wound up having an amazing time and became friends instantly. The week stay with her was filled with concerts and music. She loved electro music and took me to see the NNBs and Miss Kittin along with a reggae band.
She had a mission to ensure that I would enjoy fine French food and a meal that she felt represented the cuisine of her country well. We indeed had a great meal at a restaurant in Monmatre after one of the concerts. We split frois gras with a lightly cooked egg on top and a cheese and pear paté. She had mussels with Richard sauce and I had duck breast covered in raisin and brandy sauce. It was delightful and we enjoyed every course with a glass of good red wine.
On another evening Adele took me to see a Kandinsky and Calder exhibit at the Pompidou followed by Chinese food and good conversation. The Kandinskys were beautiful and I enjoyed seeing the progression of his work from scribbled drawings to great canvases covered in bright jewel colors and hazy shapes representing figures and landscapes. I had not seen such a collection of his work before and was dazzled by it.
On Sunday Bowers and I met up at the Notre Dame and had lunch together. I showed him around Paris and gave him a few pointers on French culture and language. Often we would wind up in a park sipping cheap wine from a bottle and enjoying the weather. He was staying with a host as well through Couchsurfing and would be traveling to Amsterdam the next week. We agreed to meet there so we could see the city with a friend. Bowers came out with Adele, her friends and me a few nights but would also try to spend time with his host. Bowers did not linger long and left for London on that Wednesday, three days after we had met up, so I was left to meander around Paris solo.
During the day I would walk around the city by myself and look for cafes where I could sit outside to have a meal. I liked watching the people walk by and go about their day as I looked on. At night I would go out with Adele and her friends all of which welcomed me warmly and whole heartedly.
After Paris I moved on to Liverpool to meet up with Glenn, my stepfather. There we visited friends I had met on my first trip to England when I was 17. I was no stranger to Liverpool and every time I visit it I feel that the city is very dismal. There is potential for great beauty but the overcast sky that always seems to accompany my trips there and the industrial city seems to weigh upon the mind. Luckily we managed to visit Steve and Tilly in the Peak District that I love so much. Here is a countryside that makes you exclaim and sigh. Green hills that jut up into the sky with flocks of sheep roaming their sides, granite rocks speckle the grass and heather can be seen in a purple, gray that blanket the hills. Steve and Tilly gave us a warm welcome to their home and served refreshments as everyone chatted. I was exhausted and soon excused myself to take a nap before we went out that night.
We wound up going to a nearby pub called the Millstone and in keeping with tradition I had Fish and Chips for dinner. After dinner we returned to their house for a cocktail and conversation. I decided to get my things in order since I was leaving behind a large suitcase and opting for a rucksack to travel lighter. Tilly had kindly offered to let me keep the suitcase and some of my things at her house until I could retrieve them. In addition I got a smaller computer that barely weighs a pound thus making travel even easier. It was a relief to shed so much cumbersome things in favor of easy, light gear.
Our last night in England was back in Liverpool where we met up with Glenn’s friends and their children. I made some new friends amongst the Fells and even talked of traveling with one of their daughters. But the night was not a late one and we returned to our hotel to order pizza.
The following morning I headed to Amsterdam and Glenn headed back to the States. He wished me a warm goodbye and hugged me tightly. It was good to see a familiar face and to be with family for a little while.
After a short and uneventful night I made it to Amsterdam and met Bowers outside the train station. The building was sprawling and beautifully ornate, I loved the city instantly. Everything was clean and everyone seemed so friendly. Bowers had reserved the same hostel for me so finding a place to stay for the next few days was easily solved.
We roamed around Amsterdam looking into shops with and tentatively peaking into the Red Light district. There we saw women displaying themselves in store windows in various stages of dress. It was not offensive or special it just was what it was and we soon moved on.
For the most part you could say that Bowers and I goofed off. Thus far when we visit a new city together we just roam around, find something to eat and talk about our lives, travels, and loved ones. The conversation is a constant flux of attention spans and topics but enjoyable none the less.
Back at the hostel we meet two girls from Mississippi and they tell me they are going to Berlin. This is perfect because that is the next place I would like to go. Bowers would be moving on to Nice within two days and I had had no plans. Luckily I came across Cassandra and Becca and got along with both of them instantly. We all went out that night and had a smashing good time. We drank to much and laughed too loud but that is what you do when you are abroad.
The next day Bowers girlfriend came through to see him and he was beyond ecstatic. Ussera was friendly and sweet and I liked her immediately. The three of us roamed around the city, crossing canals, admiring house fronts, and searching for a place to eat. We found a cheap café in a more residential area and sat down for an hour or so to enjoy our delicious, fresh meals.
After lunch I attempted to work on the computer but was frustrated when faced with an internet that was down. No work on the laptop that day.
Another night in Amsterdam was filled adventure. Ussera had to leave with her family so Bowers and I went in search of food and found Vietnamese for a reasonable price. My long craving for pho was relieved when I sat down and devoured the huge steaming bowl of chicken, noodles, basil, and onions. It hit the spot and warmed me up. Outside we found that it was pouring rain so we ran next door into an English pub where we quickly made friends with the people around us over a few pints. The night ended with a café and a much needed sleep.
The next morning Cassandra and Becca woke me up to be sure I would be going with them to Berlin. I immediately confirmed this and got my things in order for when they returned from a trip to a museum. Bowers left that morning and I checked out when the girls returned. We headed to the train station and in the nick of time got our tickets. Before I knew it I was sitting in a train on my way to Germany, another country I had never been to. The ride was about six hours but I passed it reading Carlos Zafon’s “The Angel’s Game” and napping.
We reached Berlin and the hostel was full so I found an alternate one to stay in by myself until the next night when I would change over to Becca and Cassandra’s hostel. The walk was far and the rain was hitting my face but we managed to find the Minsinger Hostel and get me settled in.
We wound up heading out in search of sustenance and came across two young Canadians doing the same. We quickly got caught up in conversation with the boys and invited them to dinner. The five of us wound up in an Indian restaurant trading travel stories and sampling food from each other’s plates. After dinner we headed back toward my hostel where I decided I would not be going out that night. I was tired and Amsterdam had taken its toll on me. The Canadians went with the girls from Mississippi and I promised to meet them at their hostel in the morning for a walking tour of Berlin.
Back at my hostel I returned to my room to do some work on the computer. But instead I wound up making friends with my roommates: Jack, Tim, Dianna and Audrey. The girls were Canadian and the boys American. We all got along so well that all but Audrey decided to grab a beer at the bar next door. The four of us wound up sharing rounds and stories late into the night. I found out that Dianna, Audrey and Tim were all planning on going to Prague and decided to tag along with them for the trip.
My first real day around Berlin consisted of a walking tour with Becca, Cassandra and Tim. Unfortunately throughout the day the rain came and went I a brisk wind picked up, chilling the tourists to the bone. But other than the cold and wet the city is quite beautiful and I have admired the architecture and listened avidly to the history.
At the end of the day I returned to rest but not before making plans with my new friends to have an evening out on the town. So far making friends and traveling alone has been an uplifting experience. Not only have I managed to discover new places I had yet to visit but I managed to meet amazing people doing the same thing. Travelers have a global culture and a certain open-minded mentality that allows for the greatness of possibility and serendipity. I wonder who I will meet next and where I will end up.



Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb