More Cows


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria
October 31st 2008
Published: November 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is was our favoriteThis is was our favoriteThis is was our favorite

He was completely white with super curly hair. Must have been part sheep! lol ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE!
Day 3

Another early day ... we left at 5:30 am, arriving at "The Big Farm" by 6:15. This farm has the clinic do all their cow checks, shots, etc. Most places can administer their own penicillin, oxytocin, etc. But this place is so big that they have a vet from the clinic come in each morning to do "the rounds". I joked that Beth reminded me of a nurse as she went from cow to cow with her cart of meds and card file for the history of each one.

I wondered the barn a bit, feeling sorry for the sad-looking cows (OK, so most of the ones I saw were SICK and had a reason to be sad-looking, but even the healthy ones didn't look happy). Poor babies.

I also got to see the calves. AWWWW!!! So cute!

After a while of not really helping with anything I went back to the vet's room and read for a bit. Beth finished her rounds then showed me the parlor. I'd never been in a carousel parlor before, so that was a new experience. They were just finishing up milking, so we didn't stay long.

Beth had several stops today. After the big farm she did check-ups at another farm close-by, where we also dropped off a bunch of medicine. Another stop for paperwork (they had music going on in the calf barn here ... first music I've heard). She got a call to check on a down cow, so we made that our last stop. Beth took a blood sample and gave her an infusion. I actually got to help a bit with that! Wow! I can be useful! 😊

Finally we stopped back at the clinic to drop of the blood sample and load up on her supplies for the next day.

Today was also Halloween, so there was lots of talk about it on the radio. I like listening to the radio and picking out as much German words as I can. They play a lot of English music, but mostly because it's "cool" and not because everyone understands it.

There are plenty of English speakers here though. Today at the second farm the herd manager knew English. She was great though, speaking first to me in German. She asked how I was and I answered her in Spanish! OUCH! ha ha ha! I could actually understand her pretty well. She asked how I liked Germany, how I liked the food, that I needed to stay longer to learn German. She also gave us some tips on Dresden where we're planning on going next week.

We chilled back at Beth's for the evening, but in the middle of getting ready for dinner she had a call about a down heifer, so she had to go take care of that. The heifer's hip was in super bad shape and she had to put it down. Ah, the life of a vet. Never know what a day will hold!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Awww .... I love you!Awww .... I love you!
Awww .... I love you!

Beth said she sometimes feels bad for the "normal" looking calves because they don't get so much attention!
The ParlorThe Parlor
The Parlor

Holds 40 slots for cows. The Cows enter, ride around while being milked, then walk off at the end. Wheeeee.... :)


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb