World Championships 2010 - Day 3


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Schwangau
May 12th 2010
Published: May 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

View from the Gelbe Wand 1View from the Gelbe Wand 1View from the Gelbe Wand 1

... towards the East with the lakes Bannwaldsee and Forggensee
I woke up this morning and heard the rain. I can see Tegelberg from my bedroom window, and I saw it was covered in clouds. I could not even be bothered to get up early because I already knew that the day would be cancelled. Weather man Volker confirmed that in the team leader briefing at 8:30. And the forecast is not looking good 😞.

At least yesterday, I had a great afternoon. As there was a foehn situation, the weather was very nice, sunny and warm. Klaus and I walked up the Gelbe Wand, that is a track that goes up Tegelberg. It is pretty steep, and there are some sections in which you have to climb. There are some chains that you can hold on to. Almost 900 metres of altitude difference. It was a beautiful walk, we went slowly, and it took us about three hours. I was all happy and proud of myself because I’m getting fitter and fitter. Not completely back into shape yet, but approaching it.

When we came back to headquarters, we heard that there had been a task for Class 2. Manfred Ruhmer (Austria) came into goal first, but apparently, due
View from the Gelbe Wand 2View from the Gelbe Wand 2View from the Gelbe Wand 2

... towards Schwangau
to leading points, Philippe Bernard from Switzerland had won the day. According to the scoring system, Bob Baier (Germany) came in second, closely followed by Manfred Ruhmer (Austria) and Steve Cox (Switzerland). This morning, a big discussion came up. Philippe flies an Archaeopterix, which might not be a Class 2 machine, but a Class 4 (ultralight sailplanes) machine instead. Pilots and organisers discussed the issue this morning, and they decided that Philippe is allowed to fly in the comp, but he can’t become World Champion. So yesterday’s Class 2 results are: 1: Bob Baier, 2: Manfred Ruhmer, 3: Steve Cox.

In the evening, I had dinner in a Thai restaurant with Rebi, Klaus, Corinna’s parents and her brother (who is doing the public relations here). Later on, Toni from the Austrian team joined us. He had walked all the way from the top of Tegelberg past Neuschwanstein Castle to Füssen. After dinner, the others went home, and I joined Jamie, Hadewych, Kathleen, Christa, and Reinhard. We had a great evening, I think we kept the whole restaurant entertained by our laughter. And I noticed on how much gossip I had missed out just by sort of not being within
The Gelbe WandThe Gelbe WandThe Gelbe Wand

... very steep, very rocky
the scene for almost a year. But I caught up with everything, so I’m up to date again.

So, we’ll see what we will do today. We won’t even be able to go hiking because the rain is so bad. But there will be a party in the tent here tonight. As there is no flying, at least everyone will be really fit for partying 😉.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Almost thereAlmost there
Almost there

... view from the Gelbe Wand towards Füssen und Schwangau
KlausKlaus
Klaus

... on the way up the Gelbe Wand
Swift flying pastSwift flying past
Swift flying past

... doing yesterday's task


13th May 2010

VM
Thanks for keeping me entertained. I don't miss your weather. I hope you get some flying in. It cannot be that bad for 2 weeks. Could you please forward my email address to Rosi Brahms. I will be in Europe in a month. May be I'll see you too as I will be heading south.
14th May 2010

RE: VM
Hi Birgit. Good to read from you. I hope you are well. I will forward your message to Rosi. Please let me know when you are in Europe. Would be great to see you. Have a great weekend, Katha

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0911s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb