A few days in the beer capital of the world


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 2nd 2010
Published: June 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After Prague, Garett and I met up with my roomate Mack to spend a few nights in Munich (or Munchen as the Germans call it). Munich is a smaller, tourist friendly, city with the largest public park in the world; oddly it was also where the Nazi movement began. It is located in the Bavarian region, which is in southern germany and seems to have a distinct atmosphere and feel to it. Germans that live in the region call themselves Bavarians, and there is a huge since of pride - I think its kinda like being from Texas. This is also where thousands of people come each fall for Oktoberfest.

We were greeted with 40 degree farenheit weather with mixed rain and sleet that has been going on all day every day since we've been here. That hasn't stopped us from exploring though. The very first night we were here, we did a 'beer challenge' that goes to the four largest brew houses in munich. We met some huge beer enthusiasts that were able to explain everything one could ever want to know about beer. Apparently, bavaria has a law that beer can only be brewed with four ingredients being water, hops, barley, and yeast. Some of the best beer I have ever had in my life, but the food here is just sausage sausage sausage and I am ready for something else. Because of the purity of these ingredients, you're not supposed to get a hangover.

Well that part was definitely not true, but we woke up in time to do a bike tour of the city of Munich. Saw a few touristy sections of the city, but Munich is definitely not a sight-seeing city. Rode through a lot of the park, where nudity is allowed but it was too cold so there were no nudists out today.

We got our fair share of nudity the following day though, in a bath house that was built in the 18th century. We had no idea what to expect, but felt like it would be a unique european experience. It certainly was, and i think we got more than we bargained for. Needless to say, I dont think we'll be going to another one. Also visited the BMW headquarters, but tours of the factory were sold out! We still wandered through the BMW exhibits, was hypermodern and very cool. You Sargent men would have loved it.

Seeing and learning so much, meeting all sorts of people living very alternative lifestyles. Bad news... in my haste to leave the last internet cafe, I left my camera usb cord 😞. I am still taking tons of pictures, and mazbe i'll find a computer where i can put in my memory card. But as for now, still no pictures for my minions. Garett and mack both lost theirs too haha... but other than that I have been keeping up with all my belongings. Next post will be in a few days from the town of Interlaken, Switzerland, a town of 20,000 in the Swiss Alps.

Hope all is well, and I appreciate the comments. Pröst! (German for Cheers)




Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.03s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb