Oktoberfest! Enough Said


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
September 22nd 2008
Published: September 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This weekend I went to Oktoberfest in Munich Germany. I feel like this one doesn’t need too much explanation of what it is since this is one German Tradition that most Americans have heard about. We all had a great time and in the end only left behind 2 people out of around 15 so I think that our trip was pretty successful. Munich is about a 4 and a half hour train ride from Radolfzell and since we were going to be such a large group round trip it only cost us 10 Euro’s. We all met at 6 in the morning to get on the train and be in Munich about 10:00am. Sounds real easy right? It was for most but not quite at easy for me.
The night before I had gone to bed early and even didn’t go out to a bar since I wanted to make sure and get a great nights rest to be ready in the morning. I set my alarm clock for 4:50 and went to bed. I woke up at about 6:05am and instantly knew. I missed the train. I jumped out of bed and called a person in my program. She
Willkommen To OktoberfestWillkommen To OktoberfestWillkommen To Oktoberfest

This is the main entrance to Oktoberfest
was actually in the process of texting me when I call and said I was still at home and was going to miss the train. I said I would get ready and see if I could take another train later. I was pretty upset I missed the train and wasn’t even sure I could make it to Munich. I left after showering and packing for the day. I went to the train station and asked for the first train to Munich. I had gotten to the train station at around 6:45am. There was a train leaving at 7:10am. I bought the ticket and jumped on the train. The girl on my program that I called told me to let her know when I would get to Munich. I rode the train and just relaxed. My final train was supposed to arrive at like 11:30. Once it got close I call the person that made the first train. It just so happens I was on the same train as them and didn’t even know it.
We walked towards the fair grounds for Oktoberfest. People were already pilling in. It was already a crazy mass of people. We got in and started
Beer Hall Beer Hall Beer Hall

As you can see the beer halls were filled with people.
walking around. I was surprised how in places it looked like the Minnesota State Fair. We walked around and saw all the beer halls and brat stands. The hardest part of Oktoberfest was finding a place that wasn’t too packed to buy a beer. We finally found a place and had a great time just absorbing the atmosphere of Dirndls (Bavarian Traditional Dress), Lederhosen and beer. We all had a nice time but after eating and drinking all day the last thing you want to do is stand on a train for like 3 hours. Sadly, that was the fate we all had to endure going home. All in all it was a great day and I am really glad I went. Sorry that the photos are kind of bad but it is hard to take pictures with thousands of pictures around you.
I have only 1 week left in Radolfzell and then it is on to Remscheid and Wuppertal University. I am getting very excited to move to my next placement and meet my new host family. I talked to my host father this last week in German. He seemed very nice and was excited to meet me. It sounds like I will be living in a guest house on their property. I am sad to leave the small quaint towns of southern Germany but excited to see the much larger towns of Germany’s largest state. I hope that everyone is doing well and thanks for all the emails



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Oktoberfest FairwayOktoberfest Fairway
Oktoberfest Fairway

As you can see Oktoberfest is a huge State Fair
OktoberfestOktoberfest
Oktoberfest

As you can see the festival is right in the middle of town.


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 44; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb