Final Days in Radolfzell


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Radolfzell
October 9th 2008
Published: October 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wine and ConversationWine and ConversationWine and Conversation

Here is a night I had wine with my host Oma and a Spanish girl that was also living in the house.
My last week in Radolfzell was bittersweet. I knew that I would be moving on and I would be able to see a new part of Germany and that was exciting, but I also knew that I was going to miss the people I had met and become so close with. The last week was filled with finishing up language classes and getting things ready for the move.
The language school was a really great place to get my German up to speed and the small town was also very nice for starting my year in Germany. The living situation was perfect because I could come and go as I pleased, but the older woman was always there to talk to and practice my German with. In my last few days I made sure to have lunch and cake with my host to say goodbye. I always really enjoyed our talks and she was constantly there to correct me. I know that I probably bettered my German more speaking with her than from class.
During the last week I mostly hung out with the other people in Radolfzell as much as I could since we soon would be spread out all
At our favorite Pizza PlaceAt our favorite Pizza PlaceAt our favorite Pizza Place

Our favorite Restaurant was a Pizza place in Radolfzell. Kind of weird for in Germany.
over Germany. I went for a day one last time to Switzerland to a town called Stein am Rheine. It was a beautiful little town with a fort high up on a mountain that you could get amazing views of the Rheine River. We also made sure to go out a few last times to our favorite town nearby called Konstanz. It was almost like the end of college again knowing that you will all go your different ways. Our last night in Radolfzell was spent in our favorite wine bar. I know that I will always look back at my time in Radolfzell fondly. Yet I am excited for what I can experience in my next town and living situation.
I had shipped both of my bags to my new host so that I wouldn’t have to drag them with me on my 6 hour train ride to Remscheid. My next stop is in a town called Remscheid. It is in the most populated German state of North Rheine Westphalia. The town of Remscheid is about an hour from both Dusseldorf and Cologne. So I am excited to be near some of the largest cities in Germany. I am
Stein am RheineStein am RheineStein am Rheine

This was the views from the Fort of the Rheine and the town.
living with a host family with 4 kids and a dog. My next blog post will tell more about the family and my new town. Hope that everyone is doing great and thanks for all the emails.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Wine BarWine Bar
Wine Bar

This is the 2 people that lived near my house in Radolfzell.
Leaving RadolfzellLeaving Radolfzell
Leaving Radolfzell

This was at the Main Train Station in Radolfzell before I left for Remscheid.


Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb