Munich Monday


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
August 15th 2005
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Pull into Munich
Seven hours on the train
Meeting new people.

Since I went to bed so late I was unable to get up early enough to wish Anne well on her train ride back to Frankfurt. I was fortunate enough to wake up early enough to b e able to have some breakfast and chat with Anne’s parents before heading to the train station. Anne’s mom was kind enough to drive me to the station with plenty of time to spare.

I found the correct platform on which to wait for my train. There were actually two trains attached and it wasn’t clear to me which one was my train and of course I get on the wrong train. By the time I discover this it’s almost time for the train to leave. So I have to wait for the next stop to get onto the correct train. What an ordeal! But I made it!

My train from Berlin to Munich would take about seven hours and would cut through much of former East Germany. I was pretty prepared for my long journey. Planned to nap a lot (hence me wearing glasses and not contacts), reading my new book on the Wall, write in my journal and of course eat/snack! So it was pretty uneventful with few delays.

I arrived in wet and soggy Munich and easily discovered my hostel across from the train station. I checked into my room and met Jackie an American Archaeology student who just finished a five week dig in Pompeii and is traveling about before a semester in Rome.

Jackie and I didn’t have dinner et so we headed down to the hostel bar since 1) it was wet outside and 2) we wanted to cash in our free drink coupons! We ordered something for dinner where we met Tim and Thorsten. They just arrived today as well. The two of them are from a small town outside Köln and are taking a short holiday before the school term shouts again. Mind you, Thorsten is in an apprenticeship program so he’s on two weeks of holidays. Jackie got up a few times and the last time she said she was going to go put her contacts on. We never saw her again! Lol I ended up talking to Tim and Thorsten for ages. If the wet weather continues I’ll join Time and Thorsten at the Deutches Museum tomorrow since there aren’t too many other indoor attractions I’d like to see. The German Museum is huge so it’ll be nice to walk through with company.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb