Time to say good bye to Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
August 18th 2005
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Another train ride
I´m off to Frankfurt today
Bye Bye Munich

This’ll be just a short entry to say hello. I can't believe that I have been in Germany for about a week now. So far I have met so many interesting people here at the hostel in Munich. I wish I had more time to tell you about some of them but that will have to wait...keep u in suspense. haha

Last week here in Germany I met up with Anne at her parents house. Her family is super nice and I even got to meet two of her nieces who are super cute. And very talented with old cardboard boxes, paper, coloured pencils and glue. They made quite a few things like houses and doll furniture. Anyhoo, Anne to me on a personalized tour around Berlin Saturday. We also met up with my friend Penny who I met while on tour in Cambodia and Laos. She has been travelling round Eastern Europe the last while and was in Poland. When I told her I would be in Berlin she said, I'm coming to Berlin! So that was a nice surprise. More details of what we actually saw in a future blog since my internet time is running out quickly. On Sunday the three of went over to Potsdam and admired the Palaces and gardens. In the late afternoon/evening Penny and I took off to check out Checkpoint Charlie (the only crossing point for foreigners between East and West Berlin when the Wall was up) and a display of part of the Wall etc. We ended up having a pretty late dinner and then stayed out a bit more for a drink. Well, we stayed out about 2 minutes too late because I missed the last train to take me back to Anne's parents home. So instead of being in the comfort of a warm and cozy bed around 1:45 I wasn't home until about 3AM because I had to take the night bus (actually two of them). Anyhoo, happy to tell u that I made it "home" safe and sound without any incidents or hassles. I must say that I got pretty good at asking "sprechen zee English?" lol

I've been in Munich since Monday and checked myself into a really nice hostel and met some interesting people as I mentioned above. The first couple of days in Munich were pretty wet and not so nice for walking about. Thank goodness it was nice and sunny yesterday and I was able to enjoy a few sights of Munich without having to worry about messing my hair. haha Seriously though, it was much more enjoyable to check out the markets and beer gardens!

I am off to Frankfurt this morning. I will be meeting up with Reimar and his girlfriend Conny which will be cool. I am hoping to meet up with Anne again in Frankfurt since this is where she is currently living and working. Now that would be super cool as well.

On that note, I should really check out of my hostel and head for the train station which incidentally is just across the street, so not a very far walk, or else I won't be seeing anyone in Frankfurt today. lol

Keep in touch (ie: send me a quick hello to let me know how you are doing in your part of the World). Hugs and stuff.
Bonz


Advertisement



Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb