Munich/Oktoberfest


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
September 22nd 2006
Published: March 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So we only got half an hour in Munich to look around. We went to one of the squares and saw the old and new city hall. The new one was meant to look way older than the old one and it does, it tricked us all. The new one is over a hundred years old, which would be super old in Canada. I got a pin and we were a bit late meeting the group and then me and Shaun got separated so I checked out the subway by myself. We then found each other and then the group (hadn't left yet) and hopped on the metro and headed to... Oktoberfest. That was crazy time.

There were thousands of guys and girls all dressed up in traditional costumes, dancing on tables and all singing German songs in all the tents. We went on the roller coaster first then had our first glass of beer. It only comes in 1 litre at Oktoberfest, they're huge. It went down pretty easily though. After we left the first hall, lot sof us got split up so me, Ben, Jessica and Jamie hung out for awhile and had another beer. We met these Swiss people (a couple) that go every year. They were really cool and the guy told us to steal the glass and showed us where there's an un-guarded exit because lots of people steal them and they check your bag. We had lost Jamie and Jessica by that time so I think we just wandered around for a bit and found people from our tour and got another beer.

Someone found Shaun with a bunch of randoms and brought him over. He gave me his bag to hold while he "went to the bathroom" which pretty much just meant hey, i'm going to go and get lost now. So I carried his bag around, we had to leave the hall because Oktoberfest was over. Me and Ben went on a swing ride, it was fun. We wanted to go on this ride that was similar to the one we all went on at the PNE, but it was closing too. I got really hungry so I went and got a schnitzel burger with ketchup and Ben had to use the washroom so he said he'd be back in 10 minutes. So I stood around eating and this older German but Italian looking man came up to me and we seriously had a 10 minute conversation and he was only speaking his language and I mine. He was trying to get me to eat my burger even though I was already doing so.

Then all the lights started turning off and these two German guys came over and they spoke some english pretty well. They were trying to convince me that German girls pee on the street all the time when I said I had to go to the washroom and we saw this guy peeing like right beside us. After they were trying to persuade me to pee right htere, I was really clear that someone was meeting me and they asked if it was my boyfriend and I said yes and then I wanted to get the hell out of there so I said I was going to go and try to find my tour group. I wandered around by myself for awhile and couldn't find the metro so I found the guys from Chicago and we couldn't find the metro. So I went and asked a policeman and he gave us instructions but we just decided to get a taxi.

I remembered that our Holiday Inn was "sud" or south and we got back safe and sound. When I got back I called Andrew crying saying I didn't want to be in Germany anymore. Ben got back and felt bad for losing me so we went for a walk down the street and talked for awhile. Then I invited him back to the room to have some little shots left over from the canal cruise. Then we found Shaun in the hallway passed out. We kicked him over and he stayed on his stomach so we took a pic of me and him. Ben and me had the shots then Ben lifted a very limp Shaun onto the bed and left and I ran down to the phone and tried calling Andrew again but there was no answer.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb