Gutan Tag!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 9th 2005
Published: June 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Munich from up highMunich from up highMunich from up high

Great picture, too bad the crane is in the way...maybe I can photoshop it out...
So the keyboards here are all different so sorry if these get funky at times...

Our train ride last night was ok. Better than the plane. I woke at 5:45am, still not used to the time change. We arrived in Munich at 9am and found our hotel easily. The guy at reception informed me that the airport had called and they had found my bag...good and bad news. I was really looking forward to new clothes! But also don't want to waste the time shopping. I can't beleive I just said that! Rephrase: I didn't want to spend the time buying things that I had chosen and packed so carefully just days before. Okay so good news, so we headed out into the city, and found some beer and got really trashed...just kidding! It is much colder here than I anticipated. We stopped in an H&M and Amy bought a sweater. I had a jacket picked out, but talked myself out of it. Now I am wishing I had bought it. I was told that my bag should be here by 1 0r 2 and it is now 8:45pm... and still no bag.
We walked aroung Martainplatz(lots of stores) and went to the Duelsch Museum. This is one of the best science and technology museums in Europe. It was rather impressive, but many of the exhibits were not in English so we didn't learn as much as would have liked to. We did see a an exhibit that made lightning! A woman standing next to use spoke English so she translated. 95% of the people that I have ran across have been very nice. We also saw the Glockenspiel (a large clock that does this elaborate display on the hours of 11, 12 and 5. I got video of it on my camera but may have to delete it due to memory. Amy and I have allready taken tons of pictures (I will try to post some soon) many of them quite silly. We are both having a blast(of course)! Tonight we are going to check out the Hofbrauhaus, one of the last authentic beer halls in the world, dating back to 1589, yeah they knew a good time back then too! Tomorrow we are planning on doing a bike tour and then hanging out at the English Garden, the largest park in Europe. It should be warmer tomorrow, but
the impressively new Glockenspielthe impressively new Glockenspielthe impressively new Glockenspiel

this is actually a new building, built to look old
not warm enough to swim or do any nude sunbathing, darn... We will stay the night here tomorrow and then head out to Vienna on the 11th. Okay, time for me to go, we are heading out for dinner and beer!

Lots of love-

Courtney

ps - will try to post pictures tomorrow

Advertisement



9th June 2005

Amy says you shouldn't have checked your bag!
Hi Courtney, I'm so sorry they lost your bag :( Amy just got home and she feels bad too. Hopefully you've found it by now. Everything is good at home. Curtis and I went swimming tonight. He doesn't like it very much. Murphy misses you, so do I. Have fun! Brooke Drink some beer for me. - Brooke
14th June 2005

Bon Voyage
What a wonderful adventure you are having! John and I are hoping to get back to Paris soon. I never tire of it. I'll be anxious to hear all about Prague. Haven't been there yet but it is on my wish list. Travel safe and have much, much fun. D. - Debbie Farr

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb