...With the Sound of Music


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Bodnegg
November 1st 2005
Published: November 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Castle at MeersburgCastle at MeersburgCastle at Meersburg

Overlooking Bodensee
Hello Reader.

After turning off the computer around two in the morning the other night, I was headed down to bed. I tiptoed by Mr. and Mrs. Noppel’s room, quietly opened and closed the hallway door then reached to turn off the light… and I rang the doorbell. The dog went nuts. I was jumping around in embarrassment and emphatically whispering ‘SHHHH!’ to the ringing bell and barking dog. I, of course, woke up her parents and her dad came out to see if everything was okay… I was lucky he didn’t grab for one of his rifles on the way. I apologised profusely and he said no problem. I try so hard to be a good example for Americans over here… it seems like I run out of juice around two a.m.

I woke up at eleven. These late night blog sessions are terrible for my sleep pattern. But well worth it. I said good morning to Steffie, who was alive and well after last night. She was upset because she heard some bad news from a company she interviewed with last week. I told her not to worry and she’ll find a job soon. By the way,
Village at UnteruhldingenVillage at UnteruhldingenVillage at Unteruhldingen

A town built on wooden stilts.
is anyone reading this interested in giving a bilingual blonde with a Master’s Degree a job?

We went to Ravensburg. Hiked to the top of a hill where a castle-turned-youth hostel overlooks the town. We headed to Meersburg and saw a castle built in the fourteenth century. The city streets are now lined with shops and cafés. We took pictures and ate ice cream. Then headed to Unteruhldingen. I loved this part and my parents would too, (they’re history buffs).

I went to a reconstructed village made to look like it did when it was first built five thousand years ago. The entire village stood on wooden stilts. There was a small museum depicting the tools and weapons they used. We purchased tickets for the tour and were given pamphlets about the structure. I asked for one in English, no luck. I asked for one in Spanish, no luck. The guide, smiling, excitedly handed me one in French. ‘It’s a good thing I’m a quick learner,’ I told her.

Steffie translated the whole tour at a rate of twenty Euros per hour. Really interesting to see how people developed and adjusted to their surroundings. For example, they first used to hand drill holes in stones for axes using sand and a piece of wood at the rate of one millimeter per hour. Then they developed an advanced drill using a larger contraption combining string and a pulley. Then they were flying at two millimetres per hour. Interestingly enough, they had a hieroglyph depicting the first plans for Heidi’s computer… I knew it was hers because the drawing took up four walls of a house that slept eight.

We drove to a church on the lake called Birnau. It was closed for tours but you could go inside to pray. I’m not really one for praying, but I went in anyway. The church was incredible. Probably the most ornately appointed church I’ve ever seen.

Last night we went to a Halloween party. It was in a sports hall, had four bars, and a stage for the live band, (who sang mostly in English…?). It was very similar to a party in the states, except everyone was speaking German. And there were so many sixteen and seventeen year olds. It felt odd. I wanted to grab the beer out of their hands, spank them, and send them home cause it was past their bedtime.

Steffie is headed to Frankfurt today. She has an interview. I am staying with her sister and her dad and we are going to look at a couple more castles and a church. With all the castles around here, it is amazing that everyone doesn’t live in one.

Advertisement



1st November 2005

an idea
your so close to gutach you should go and see it before it closes. vogtsbauernhof is what its called u can see a poreview on the web. u might like it
1st November 2005

Story Teller Eli
Eli I am so jealous of you!! Also I can not tell you how excited I am for you. The pictures you are taking are absolutely gorgeous. When I read your blogs I feel as if I am there. You have a real talent with words and photography. Seriously I feel like I am on a vacation when I read them. I can feel, taste, see, and smell everything you are describing. I actually look foward to your blogs. Plus it is how I know your are ok and enjoying your time traveling!Well stay safe and I can't wait to hear about your next adventure!!!!!
1st November 2005

History buffer...
Hi Honey, You are experiencing such wonderful places from history. I am, and I know many of your friends, are envious of your adventure. I just appreciate so much you sharing this with all of us. The pictures make me feel that I'm there with you. I hope you have a bunch of memory cards for that new camera. We don't want you to run out of these great pictures. BTW, I noticed that on TravelBlog all the pictures and text are automatically copyrighted to you, the author. You are a wonderful writer and photographer. You could use this journal as the beginning of your first book. I love and miss you. Mom, the history buff.
1st November 2005

naughty 16 & 17 yr olds
... If I caught a spanking every time I had a beer when I was 16/17 and stayed up past my bedtime... well lets just say kids are fixing for a spank-bottom in the upstate Ny area.
2nd November 2005

wooden stilts or SPOKES OF DEATH!
:( I hate those things...anyways. I'm glad you got to hang out with all those mid-teenagers, its like those days back at chuck-E-cheese. Is it just me or is anyone else confused as to why there is a doorbell inside the house....Zio had to explain to me why... oye... Right now Andrew is making his 'famous French Onion soup'. I hear good things about it. We are having some people over and just hanging out. Lady Sage (the car) is sick and is going in for fixing tonight. Wish her luck. Hope all is well, take care.
2nd November 2005

It was interesting about the 5,000 year old village and the early stone drilling methods they figured out. Thanks for the picture. Not many places to see that type of site in the US. Good story abut the 2am doorbell ring. We're all enjoying the stories and writing. In fact, we got a note from Chick-Fil-A wanting copies of the cow picture for their calendar. Seems you've made the Bodnegg cows world famous. Great to read your trip.
2nd November 2005

Why not?
Yeah, I'll give her a job. Not that she wants to work where I do, but hey. You got a yes to your question. So quit your complaining! :) On a side note, as I'm informed, doorbells and lightswitches look remarkably different. I checked them on the house here, and after hours of study, research and testing I'm going to need a better explanation on how you mistook the two. We here at the Society (SODM for short) are very interested in your comments, and would be interested in having you as a guest speaker at our next international meeting being held, strangely enough, at your brother's house. :) On a serious note, Mel and I absolutely love reading these. You've got an eye for beauty and a natural ability for capturing it to share with others. Love ya CC and I'll comment on your next post (it's the only way I think you'll listen to me these days). -Jake P.S. Oh yeah. We'll need your RSVP for the guest speakers position no later than Dec 31, 2007. :)
2nd November 2005

Castles...
We just LOOONG for a bungalo.
2nd November 2005

wooden stiltes what???
You are having a crazy crazy time!!>i miss you much and look forward to reading ur blogs all the time!! love you

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 36; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb