No Pictures, but...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Black Forest
May 24th 2008
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On the TrainOn the TrainOn the Train

Looking at maps
First off, Benj, YES! Döner Kebobs or Dönar Kebops (I've seen them spelled both ways here) are amazing! I would have gotten one today for dinner, but my bus came before I had a chance.
Ok, today.
Today I went to a small town in the Black Forest called Alpirsbach. It has one of the oldest Klosters (monistaries) in Germany and also one of the oldest still running beer brewries. I, along with four other people (two other students, the boyfriend of one of the other students, and a guy that works at SIT and is a student at the Tübingen Universität, this guy is named Florian and he leads all of the excursions and also was my guide around Tübingen my first day here) went through the monistary, a museum, and the brewery. It was amazing, everything was so old! The monistary was beautiful in its simple way, the museum was also very interesting, it was filled with all these artifacts, scraps of things found from the days when it was a running monistary, scraps of writing, clothing, dishes, books...
The history of the braurie/brewery is very interesting. Back when it was a running monistary when the monks had to
On the Train 2On the Train 2On the Train 2

The guy on the left is Florian, the girl on the right is Jada and the guy with her is Marco (they're from Italy)
fast for very long periods of time they would drink beer because it had enough calories to sustain them and at the time it had very little alcohol in it. So these monks started brewing their own beer and the brewery that they started then, hundreds of years ago, is still running in the same place today.
I got lots of wonderful pictures from today, but to my great dismay they have all been deleted. I'm not sure how but the card in my camera is blank all of a sudden and I don't recall deleting anything. Anyway, I have no pictures from my beautiful trip into the Black Forest, so you'll all just have to take my word for it that I went.

Gruße,
Bethany


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

On the Train 3On the Train 3
On the Train 3

This is Cindie (and me) Cindie comes from Switzerland, the French speaking part of Switzerland
KlosterKloster
Kloster

Here is the outside of the Monistary, EXTREMELY old
Kloster 3Kloster 3
Kloster 3

I'm dissapointed that this turned out blurry, it was very beautiful in this sanctuary, and very cold.
Kloster 4Kloster 4
Kloster 4

This is one of the cells that the monks used to live in
Kloster 5Kloster 5
Kloster 5

The walls were made of criss-crossed sticks and plaster. And they've lasted for hundreds and hundreds of years!
Kloster 6Kloster 6
Kloster 6

More architecture
Kloster 7Kloster 7
Kloster 7

I'm not sure what they're called but it's a praying place that's surrounded by rippley windows so light can come in but you can't see out. Also beautiful architecture
Kloster 8Kloster 8
Kloster 8

Here is the Monistary from the back, the bells rang every 15 minutes.
KlosterbräuKlosterbräu
Klosterbräu

Rub the monk's belly for Glück! haha


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb