Week Five, Still alive.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Perpignan
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

As my fifth week abroad draws to an end on this most Hallowest of eves, I must report that I am still alive and well, abeit I have many new leg and arm scratches from wretched brambles, Holly oaks and other fun prickled trees, and a scratched eye from a Mimosa tree. Could be in worse shape I suppose.

The trials and tribulations of an olive farm worker.

Life here in France is good - I am building an impressive C.V. (resumé if you'd like) which will be an entire post in the near future.

I shall remain at the Olive farm in Laroque des Albères, France until the 10th day of November, at which point my sights lie south to Spain.

Rowan, my wonderful Kiwi and I are beginning a walk that will take us many months to complete. We wish to inform and inspire the people we meet along the way that, yes, Europe may be in a recession, but all hope is not lost. We seek to construct a new society in which at the foundation lies love, compassion, awareness of all life forms, and a unified consciousness.

Enough about Recessions and Revolutions.

This past week, my German friend, Misha came to visit (We met at Mas la Fargassa). We spent a great week together, collected many plants and seeds, hiked (with Rowan too of course) up the mountain in search of an injured billy goat, built fences and weeded gardens. Good times had by all.

Tomorrow, we travel towards Perpignan and stop at Emmaus, a giant second hand store. We need to buy a campstove and pot for our walk, and I need a new camera, since mine jumped hands.
With a little luck, we'll have warmth and sunshine, and luck with our shopping.

Sunday, we drive to Marseilles, as our boss, Namua is vacationing in Africa, and needs a lift to the airport. It will give me some more opportunities to speak french and see a famed city.

That's it from me. Happy Hallowe'en my friends.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb