A weekend in Paris....many experiences that I will never forget!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 25th 2006
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This weekend a group of us went to Paris. As a traveler, I did not plan on touring Paris when I first came on this trip. As my stay in Paris was rather short, I did take in alot! Friday night we checked into our hotel, bought metro passes (which turned out to be invaluable), and went to the Eiffel Tower! I saw the sunset over the Eiffel Tower! (big deal to you, I was like a child in a candy store) The entire city of Paris has so much beauty that I can not even begin to describe, or give the city justice. As the sun started to go down, the Eiffel Tower was lit with lights, and it's glow was delightful. (However for 10 minutes of ever hour during the night the tower blinks...I got a few seconds of video footage- relatively tacky, like bad christmas lights, but in Paris I was a tourist first...and I liked the glittery display. ) At the foot of the Eiffel Tower their were many vendors, all selling the same t-shirts and same blinking, color changing Eiffel models. Hilary managed to talk a guy down from 5 euro to 3 euro- that girl is so smooth.
So Saturday we saw the Louvre, Notre Dame, walked the Champs-Elysee, ascended the Eiffel Tower during the day, and ate at a french cafe. I must say the Louvre is amazing and I will return to Paris one day and give the Louvre like 3 days to do. The floor housing the medieval and greek stuff was closed for Saturday, but I still saw sooo many wonderful things in 2 hours!!! The Mona Lisa was small, good, but not what I expected. The room in which it was located had many more beautiful Renaissance and Romantic peices that I fell in love with. Venus De Milo was great, but it was really the religious works, the sculptures and the ceiling paintings that I enjoyed the most. A few of the Renaissance religious depictions of Christ had such dramatic colors, the movement, the contrasts of light and dark, and the sheer raw emotion captured just captivated me and moved me. I had to move on as not to cry and look like a nerd.... I thought of my friends as well as I saw many things(I thought of Julia with most of the art, if only you guys could have been here for me to share this with you- I thought of Eric when I saw all the greek and roman stuffs- I took pictures of everything I could that was legal. Some rooms you could take pictures, and some you could not- go figure.) I played this game as I walked through the Louvre- I would eye a work from across the room, and try to guess it's country, or period, or style, then approach it and read about it. Dorky I know, but since we only spent 3 hours in the Louvre, I feel that I got a good sampling and alot of pictures, much to the chagrin of my travel mates who just really wanted to see a few famous works and head out. So the architecture of EVERYTHING in the Louvre, the ceilings, the moldings, the shape of the building in general- had me in awe and in kodak-moment mode! I might have more pictures of the building than of works of art. (but since most rooms were off limits to cameras...I'll justify my obsession with architecture)
Notre Dame was breath taking. I wish that I had time to take more pictures, and I wish the pictures that I took did it justice. The arches and windows I could stare at for hours, and the history dispayed here was so much to take in. The whole atmosphere of the the sunlight coming through and the majestic glow of the windows made me feel so peaceful. What touched me the most though was the choir singing in the lofts in preparation for mass, such beautiful melodies. We however could not stay for mass....but that would have been amazing. If I ever understood catholicism, I think that the experience would have been even more emotional than it was.
So we walked the Champs-Elysee, and I got plenty of pictures. The fountains there were my favorite, along with passing all the haute-couture shops. (such as a mink fur stole starting at 2000 euros, etc...nothing I'd ever dream for or wear but interesting)
Ascending the Eiffel Tower was great- and the view of the entire city from the second floor the best. The opportunity to view the monuments and buildings that we had visited throughout the day, in addition to the view of the Seine river and how it shapes the city was wonderful. From the top (which I don't like heights and did ok-go me for no panic attack) we could see the sun starting to set and the sky beginning to turn pink and orange over the mountains- pictures can only capture so much!
Sunday it rained. It rained bad and the group who went to the market got separated. So, I joined up with Callie and we went to see the graves of Jim Morrison and Comte (the philosopher). The rain added an interesting ambiance to this solemn, but beautiful place. I've always loved walking through cemetaries with great family histories, but this one was like one I had never seen! The tombs dated from the 17th century and were all very ornate, and so beautiful. We got lost and ran into a women who asked us to pray for her daughter, who has recently passed. We also ran into many rain drenched, lost tourists like ourselves from all over the globe who were coming to pay homage to Jim Morrison. Apparently Chopin and Rossini were buried here as well, but I didn't get to see them as this cemetary was complicated, we were drenched and cold, and ready to get some food.
We wandered around Paris and ended up in a not so safe part, nothing happened....but the industrial part of Paris on a rainy day when being eyed and hollered at by shady men is not where you want to be....so we went back to the market and cruised around. I snagged some beautiful jewelry and a hip scarf for belly dancing from a middle eastern man. I am proud of my bargaining skills..the man said I had beautiful eyes= he wants my money and I'm going to get the most for whatever I give him- so I smiled, saved 7 euros and he even tossed in a bizarre hair comb as I left....porquoi pas...
So then we hopped back on the Metro and went to catch our train....and I was trying to figure out the train chart. The train we needed was not posted- it read "Annecy" but was for the same time- my train ticket said Chambery and I got confused. I helped my friend to her car as we were running, and of course my car was the last on the train. She was able to get on, but as I ran past every door (you can jump on then walk to your car) it shut and I missed my train.
So here I am, alone in Paris and the next train does not leave directly until 6 or 7 AM the next morning. My friends have no way of contacting me (none had my number) and I have no way of contacting them (none had a phone) and I'm not even sure if they know that I missed the train. ::Insert 10 minutes of feeling sorry for myself::: then I got over it and tried to figure out what I was supposted to do. Thankfully a brittish couple noticed my 10 minutes of pacing, crying, and trying to get as far away from everyone in general until I stopped crying....and helped me change me reservation. I decided that I needed to get to Lyon, which was closer to home, hope to catch a late bus or get a taxi. So I arrive in Lyon and nothing went my way. I arrived at about 10 PM, which is the time that all the shuttles to Chambery stop, and the time that all taxi tariffs increase. So after I hear that it is 100 euro for a taxi, and that the
Moulin RougeMoulin RougeMoulin Rouge

I was dissapointed...the Paris red light district was rather boring and this was it...the Moulin Rouge. I bet if we came back after dark it may have been hoppin'
soonest train to Chambery is a 4:45 train, I figure that I'll bide my time in the station. I called a few friends in attempt to stay awake so my stuff didn't get stolen, etc. All I had on me was my journal, my sunglasses and market souveneirs, cell phone and money/credit card/passport etc. I had no travel guide, language guidebook, shoulder to cry on, music to listen too, etc. My luggage was in Johnnie's car (as they did not have train passes and rented a car) and the only clothes I had were the ones that I was wearing- that were still damp from my travelling in Paris. Well, this plan didn't work out as the guard with the big automatic gun and a large leather muzzled dog informed me ever so sweetly that the station was closed. I was then set into the street of Lyon outside the train station- which is NOT a good part of town. I walked for about 15 minutes looking for anything resembling a cab, person, hotel, etc. I also prayed not to be robbed, beaten, raped, etc. If it could go through my head it did, but somehow I remained calm and prayed. As I have had several times on this trip, a guardian angel arrived when i least expected it. It was an algerian guy about the age of 22-25 on a bike. He was very nice, and very persuasive- to say the least. He invited me to his mom's house to spend the night, and insisted repeatedly that he has an extra bed and that his mom is a great cook. As I had no doubt that this was the truth, I had to somehow explain to him without insulting him that I wanted to find a hotel. He walked with me to 3 hotels and talked with me. He understood a little english, but spoke none- so I was forced into a french lesson. At least now I know that after 18 hours of chaos in wet shoes and in a super state of stress, I can still speak functional (but not good by any means) french. I got a room, and he begged for me to have a discussion and have a cup of coffee with him. I met him in the lobby after dropping my bag and had a nice talk with him. Politics, french labor problems, his love for America, detest for our actions in the war, etc. were all discussed. It was his love for Americans, his dream of marrying an American, and his idealized view of American life that interested me the most. The forward manner in which he asked to come to my room and basically fulfill his fantasy with an American was kindy creepy, but he was a complete gentleman. It is the cultural difference that was interesting. He never once tried to touch me, approach me, or even make me uncomfortable. I was completely relaxed around him and enjoyed his company, but his forwardness was odd. After speaking to a bud who lived in france a while, I was informed that he was a good frenchman- open with his desires, suave, yet very respectful, polite, and caring. Since I paid for the hotel, I decided to get a good bath, a great night's sleep and I got home safe around 12 on Monday. and hey- in the end I have great stories, memories, more confidence in my independant abilities, a french lesson, and it was still almost half the price a cab ride would have been (and if I had taken the cab home I would have had to walk up the hill to campus, which is not something I would want to do through that part of town alone at night as alot of drunks occasionally hide out in crannies along the way)

enjoy the pics, and there are more in the link above called Gallery- and my college facebook buddies- check there too for many more pics than I can post here of all my adventures!!


Advertisement



28th June 2006

Wowza!
Talk about touristry! I can't believe how tiny Notre Dam looks! So bitty! You look awesome on the Tower and not scared at all! (I'm afraid of heights too!). You will meet some crazy people. It was nice of that Algerian guy to offer his home, but still crazy he actually thought you'd accept. I wouldn't! HELL NO! Well, gotta jam home and clean up the apt for my going away/bday party! NEXT YEAR IS GOING TO ROCK SO HARD CORE!! :)
28th June 2006

notre dame comment
I'll show you more pics from the inside....it's really anything but small. THis was taken from like 200 yards away to fit it into my camera shot....and the view of the arches from the inside....OMG!!! and next year will rock! booyahh
29th June 2006

Thank God for guardian angels!!! You have a great head onyour shoulders. my prayers are with yoiy every day. beautiful pics. enjoy! i do miss you though.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb