Chambery life


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes
June 22nd 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

girls before going outgirls before going outgirls before going out

Just a few of us girls
So life is slowing down in Chambery. All of the students are starting to become more comfortable with each other, the area, public transportation, and the novelty of everything is wearing off. Thank goodness all of the Americans are no longer "the Americans" as we are beginning collectively to split off into smaller groups, become more independent, and we are each finding out niche here in Savoie. I myself am starting to learn my way away around the city, yet I am still soaking up all that is around me. I am no longer in the ouvert touristy phase, yet I would not claim that I am completely comfortable in my element. I am really seeking to feel the beat of daily life here in France, and even moreso the daily life of individuals living here in Chambery.

There are several observations that I expected or had been warned of before I arrived, as well as some that I have found intriguing on my own. One of which is the smell of the natives, or the citizens I should say; (as I am aware the word "natives" seperates me in a Jacques Cousteau-ish type way
Salsa Salsa Salsa

This is me and Yonathon salsing
but that is sort of how I feel) The french do not reek in general, but their daily regime is much different than ours. Another thing that I find interesting is how dogs are everywhere, walked the majority of the time off-leash, and do their business about the streets. Dogs are in stores, at the foot of their owners in cafes, and I have seen very few strays in the city. (a few stray tom cats are around when heading up the hill to the campus near the residential areas) It is not the simple presence of the dogs that I am enjoying, but I am fascinated by how the dogs DO NOT BARK! The only dogs barking that I have heard since I have been here have been through the phone when speaking with my mom (I miss you Lady, Sampson, and Zoe and I am searching for french doggie souveneirs!!!) The dogs here are also all so cute, I want to pet one- but I'm still trying to figure the social norms on that one. The behavior of the dogs seems to reflect that of the owners: quiet, reserved, and composed- focused on what business must be achieved
women with the box of musicwomen with the box of musicwomen with the box of music

This was a group of women we ran into who were playing this music player box thing, they were singing folk tunes- interesting
while giving the heir of being completely carefree.
Another thing that I never ceases to amaze me is the beauty of this area. From the cobblestone streets that are pedestrian friendly, with intricate brick patterns interlocked with larger stone roads (no concrete jungle here), to the view of the Alps I see all around the town. Seriously, one looks down a side street corridor or into an alley and a peak of snow covered mountain above it all enters the panorama. Another thing that is amazing is the selection of flowers, and the way in which the lawns of the residents are manicured. Roses grow in an almost wild manner, and on my detours from the bus stop home, I have found 3 different paths through little neighborhoods adorned with varieties of flowers! Landscape appears effortless, yet planned. From my first encounters with the alpine countryside on the train ride from Paris to Chambery I have adored the view. From the side of the TGV high speed train tracks, a whir of color, old houses, mountains, and not so attractive suburbia all coexist in a fashion that I personally find mind boggling! The same was true for the train ride
guitar playerguitar playerguitar player

He had a purple guitar and was playing french grunge
to Annecy- the houses look like those out the old French countryside (I'm thinking of a picturesque set from 1940's- like the house of Audrey Tatou's character in A Very Long Engagement). Here there is no homogenized architecture as seen in many middle class suburbia in the states.
My teacher was telling us how she lives on Lake Bourget in the house of her grandmother. The houses here may be over 200 years old and stay in the family, and this is norm. As the idea of morgages is very different here and not as many people own their homes, I guess I can understand this cultural difference. At the same time, the old world charm and pride of heritage here is something I find wonderful. The inside of my prof's house she says is all modern, with carpet, etc. but the foundation is still original. (she's throwing us a party soon so I'll let you know about this one!!) This is also cool as property on the lake is now impossible to purchase due to some kinda regulation, code, law, etc. So from a sociological perspective, I'm really trying to understand life in France. I'm trying to be a culture sponge, and this is the kind of thing that pictures can not display.
A few things that do bother me though, not to be negative, but just to pass on a point of view: Sometimes I don't like the shops being closed in the middle of the day, like when I need to fill a perscription for cold medicine that I could get over the counter in the states- However, I have learned a very nice coping strategy of taking the mid-afternoon nap. In general, the people here are much more laid back and less aggressive- conclusion, Americans need to take more naps!!! Another beef is that drivers make no sense, riding the bus still wigs me out as red lights seem to be guidelines, and that pedestrians TAKE the right of way is odd. Some areas in the downtown region do not have crosswalks, but are circular in nature as well as shared between cars and pedestrians. I realize that drivers here have lower accident rates, must take driving lessions and pass very difficult driving tests (if only TN drivers had to do the same), but the driving behavior here still baffles me. Parking is so close, cars are really small (however I did see a Hummer- very amusing), and everyone rides the bumper (or behind) of the car (or person) in front of them. I could go on, but driving here is just interesting and the drivers are amusing. (However the bus driver of line 6 on Wednesdays and Thursdays who has her friends ride for free and chat with her and not watch the road is just flat out freaky- I don't ride line 6 if I can avoid it on those days)
The homesickness passed quickly, mostly thanks to my purchasing a radio and french radio is 90% american music, and then the rest is brit pop. I've heard Nirvana, Simple Plan, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Black Eyed Peas, The Pussycat Dolls, Arctic Monkeys, Jack Johnson, Alanis Morrisette, Nada Surf (they are HUGE on an indie scale over here) many others and more late 90's alternative that I have not heard in years in the states on the radio. I was kinda hoping for more french music, but hey a big taste of home is nice. Besides, k-town radio blows!! My mp3 player was stolen from my friends room when he did not lock it- so the past 2 weeks have been tough, but I'm coping. (For those that do no know...my music is my therapy, my sanity,my comfort to memories of friends back home, and almost a part of my identity- and I'm proud that I didn't get to cranky when it dissappeared.)
I'm not homesick anymore, but when I get home I want: Coca-cola complete with diabetes causing high fructose corn syrup in a 32 ounce supersized cup (the MAXI size at McDo and the coke made with sugar just isn't the same), eat some amazing US stir fry like my last meal in K-town(I'm living off pasta and besides French asian just isn't the same), to take a bath in a large american bathtub, and to rent a movie from a real person (they have movie ATM kinda things here...cool but complicated).
Also since I've been here I am more aware of what I take for granted back home.. there are many things but I am thankful for having polite male friends who are gentlemen (I now realize that they are gentlemen when compared to some men) French men are nice enough, and I danced with one and spoke French with one last night at the salsa club, but the way they view women is very different. I felt respected, don't get me wrong, and this one guy and me just talked, but men in general here are different in so many ways- good and bad. (translation to anyone who had any doubt in me- I AM NOT GOING TO HOOK UP WITH ANY EUROPEANS!) Males and females over here don't seem to be friends as often as in the states...but at the same time romantic commitment ideas over here are very different as I have picked up in conversation...
ok..so I've written alot for one entry, but I felt it was time to share some reflections and get a little more personal, as life is starting to slow down. I'm off to Paris and Eurodisney this weekend, so I'll post more crazy pics and updates the first of next week! Check out some Salsa night pics and some pics from the Fete de La Musique downtown last night....


Advertisement



24th June 2006

Yea!
It is so weird to see teh male female interactions in other countries! Over here it seems that the guys fill the female roles of the states and the girls are like guys! Plus, guys only still seem to want to hook up and will be crazy nice to you until they find out you won't. Asses. Can't wait for some boy(s) at home ;) You knoooooow/

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb