From Rue de Debelleyme, Marais


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
September 7th 2009
Published: September 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 2

Mary and I part company after cafe creme and espresso at the markets. I set off into the great unknown (principally Marais) somewhat daunted at the prospect of being alone in a country where I know no-one and don't speak the language. I flounder around re-visiting the streets we walked yesterday looking for something familiar and hoping I won't get lost. Anyway found my way to Musee de Victor Hugo in Place Des Vosges then find myself at a different entrance of Musee de Carnavale. When I find out entrance is free, there's no stopping me. From there I venture into the adjacent Bibliographique (or Library I have since discovered) to consult Mary's Paris Plan. I get brave and venture into unknown territory. I wander into the Place de Bastile then the Ile St Louis past Notre Dame (the queue is enormous) and back to where we stayed. Eventually I found Jardin de Luxembourg however at that moment the battery on my camera ran out. I retraced my steps home and to my great joy started to recognise where I was supposed to be. I sat down on the couch and promptly fell asleep.

Day 3

I begin early thinking that if I get to Notre Dame early enough I'll beat the crowd. Alas no, as I turn the corner I see hundreds of people milling around the square in front. As there is no-one lined up at the door, I wander up to read the free entry sign and go in. The service has begun and I take a seat. despite not knowing a word of French, the structure of the service is familiar. The pipe organ and soprano are magnificent . After the service I tour the cathedral and discover I've left the memory card at the apartment. So much for good intentions.

Attempt 2 - this time I am passing by one of my navigation points (St Paul's) and again notice a free entry sign. The temptation is too great and again sit in on the service. I like St Paul's even more than Notre Dame as it is less ostentatious (don't think this is the word, but it is all that comes to mind). They too have a pipe organ but the clergy sing and it is far more homely and welcoming. From there I make my way back to Jardin de Luxembourg primed with full battery and memory card....I can feel several photos coming on.

After this my feet started to protest badly and I returned to the apartment with the intention of embarking on the Pompidou Centre, however that was the end of my touring for the day. Mary and I had dinner at 'La Pharmacie'. I had chicken skewers with pineapple and accompanied by a crunchy zucchini salad. Mary had grilled fish with vegetables provencale and nice drop of Sauvingon Blanc.

Hopefully my feet will be okay to wear runners soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



7th September 2009

Great new blog
Ev says that it's great being an armchair traveller as it's not so bad on the feet. Hurry up and get those runners on. We'd like to know how the wedding went Mary and how the smiles and blank looks are going Joss. We think of you on and off all the time and wonder where you are and what you are doing. From the weather sites I have been checking the weather is just right for you and we hope that it stays that way. Take care, we love you.
8th September 2009

Paris in the Springtime (Oz that is)
How are you ever going to settle down in dear old Oz again we ask having sampled the delights of Paris, France. No Notre Dame, no St Pauls and, worst of all, no croissants - proper ones that is.
8th September 2009

C'est manifique!!!
Now it's not just your descriptions of France itself that are making my mouth water it's your breakfasts and dinners too. From reading your blog I can almost imagine you skipping the pavements and singing "I love Paris". Your enjoyment is contagious.
8th September 2009

Pounding the kms
Well, it sounds like you should have sore feet. The Marais to the Jardin de Luxembourg and back is no mean feat. Are you entranced though? Did you have childhood/teenage dreams about what this would be like and is Paris living up to it? And Mary: pray tell, what goes with the wedding? Full separate blog entry with all requisite details please.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb