Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 3rd 2008
Published: August 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we spent most of the previous day walking through Paris and trying to navigate the Metro - subway. Our clocks still being somewhat set on Northwest time, we woke up bright and early after a restless night’s sleep. We decided to go the Eiffel tower before all the tourists arrived. On our way there we wandered from bakery to bakery trying different pastries. Tim has decided to rescind his ill will towards the French as a result of their excellent food and now wants to move here for the food.
The Eiffel tower was smaller than I expected, but none the less fun to see. My problem with heights prevented us from going up and Tim teased me a lot about this. The lines were so long though, even at 9am. We then found our way to an English speaking bookstore and bought a French cookbook and some pleasure reading for the trains. The food in the book looks so good! Especially this chocolate cake near the back!
I am surprised how many people here speak English. I always try to address people in French but then they start talking to me in English. I am pretty sure my terrible accent gives me away as American. My French isn't so bad, but let’s just say I wouldn't get through anything more than a short exchange.
We wandered up to Monmarte and explored the museum up there (thanks for the suggestion Ilaria, it was fun) and got a drink at the Chat Noir. We considered seeing a show at the Moulin Rouge and then we saw the prices.... 200 American dollars for the cheapest seats!
After a short rest at the hotel we took the Metro over to the Latin District, or what I thought was the Latin District. I'm still not really sure. I found a pair of shiny silver shoes that I had to have and we had some pizza at an Italian restaurant. It was about the only thing we could afford since we were determined not put our wallets deeper into cardiac arrest after the previous night’s dinner.
After dinner we passed out in the hotel and finally got a good night’s sleep.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



7th August 2008

oh the food!
the food is AMAZING. If I could sit @ a street cafe with French food and wine, I would be so happy :)
7th August 2008

So glad you guys are having fun!
Yay! I am glad you are having a good time in France. I have yet to have a very good time there, so I'm glad to hear you've succeeded, hehe! :)

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb