Not coming home.


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

LutonLutonLuton

Tim found a funny book where the main character was a T-rex with attitude named Tim.
We landed at London Heathrow a few days ago. I managed to doze on the plane by creatively turning the little tray in front of my seat into a head rest - sort of like falling asleep at your desk at school but not as comfortable. However, Tim couldn't get any sleep. Nobody warned me about how terrible the pressure change can be on your ears as you come down to land from such a high altitude. I thought I was dying until Tim informed it was normal. I got lots of advice on how to prevent this on the return trip from both of our parents.
We met up with Christina, my sister in London. We went out to dinner at a Tapas restaurant near her flat. She bought the drinks (she gave me a 'coupon' for a drink together in London for my birthday in March) and we ate some tasty meatballs, potatoes and Spanish ham. Sorry, I don't have any pictures from this. Stiners was tired from school and Tim and I looked well, jetlagged and gross.
We found our hotel in Luton, just North of London, easily and spent the night there before our afternoon flight to
ParisParisParis

The view from our hotel room.
Paris. We had some excellent pasties the next day and Tim had a lamb simosa. Mmmm..... crispy golden, flaky buttery goodness! I hope we can find it again when we go back to the London area in a few weeks. I need to learn how to make those at home! There are some pictures from this part of the trip, but for some reason the camera saved it to it's internal memory so I will have to wait until I get home to be able to get them off the camera.
Last night in Paris we went out to dinner at a restaurant in Paris near Notre Dame. My aunt Milari and cousin Ilaria recommended it and wow! It was called Au Vieux Paris and it was excellent! You were able to go down to their cellar and choose your own bottle of wine. The cheapest one was 60 bucks, but we decided to drink one anyways. Tim had some amazing scallops and I had some steak with this perfect mushroom sauce. We also had escargot as an appetizer. I was a bit afraid of it, but Tim really wanted to. They cooked it a very flavorful buttery, garlic and
ParisParisParis

We encountered a Jewish rabbi. Maybe he has a son for Christina, my sister! (She has a propensity for attracting boys with devout Jewish parents.)
parsley sauce and it tasted a lot like really good clams. I would have it again if it was prepared that good!
We're off to explore Paris now. More to come later! Between the food, the sites and the shopping we're not sure we want to come back.
We're off to Nice tomorrow for three days of lazyness. We're thinking about taking some side trips to explore the surrounding towns and cities. Any suggesttions?


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

ParisParis
Paris

Another shot of our view form the hotel.
ParisParis
Paris

Notre Dame
ParisParis
Paris

Notre Dame
ParisParis
Paris

Au Viuex Paris, an amazing but tres cher!
ParisParis
Paris

The inside of the amazing restaurant we ate at.


2nd August 2008

Bon Appetit!
I am so proud of you both for trying the escargot and going for that $60 bottle of wine! You now have what will always be an amazing memory of Paris and perhaps one of your best meals ever. Jenn, you should read Hemingway's A Moveable Feast...
7th August 2008

I would LOVE to go to Paris for a French cooking class. Want to join me?
9th August 2008

Sounds like fun!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb