First Day


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 7th 2008
Published: May 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Shoving off

2:00 a.m. wake up call in the fort so I can make the 3:10 meeting with Shamrock. Apparently I'm the only one of 4 who is actually excited about their trip enough to arrive. Had it been a business trip starting at 3:00 I'd probably sleep in too. I wasn't too anxious or excited to sleep the night before , passed out in fact, deep sleep, the kind that lingers and holds on a while once you've been suddenly awakened and really require the rest to function properly. So anyhow the ride to DIA seems like blink. The turtle just locked his neck into that ackward and uncomfortable sleep that anyone who knows me well has seen after I've had too much to drink. Same goes for the flight to Atlanta.
In total now I've had about 4.5 hours sleep, comes to find out thats all I'm gonna get for the next 30 or so. Not that cross Atlantic flights are uncomfortable, okay maybe for those saps rubbing knees and smelling their neighbors farts isn't ideal, but, when you roll like I do and have first class ( thanks be to the Buddy Pass and good fortune) there's no reason not to get a good night sleep. Sorry I had to rub it in for anyone reading who has crossed in coach, hell I'VE DONE IT. The guy next to me a business man from Atlanta names Morris little and I exchange a few pleasantries and I can't help but think about the seat chart Little (4f) Lundahl (4g). Not me thought I can't sleep and can't explain why, honestly I think I'd rather stay up than try to force sleep, there'll be plenty of time for that when were dead. I arrive in Paris at 6:20 a.m. which is like 10:20 p.m the night before mountain standard. Spend a good hour trying to get though passport inspection and into baggage claim. This had to be by far the least efficient way of filtering people into limited customs check lines, free-for-fuckin-all squeeze them all together and the the strong survive.

Okay baggage on back, laces tight, a full belly from breakfast, coffee juice eggs chocolate eclair, you know the basic grease fix for the traveling man. Everything tasted fine but pack it on top of another meal and tighten a backpacks hip straps around this and things get quite uncomfortable. I make my way through the train station fairly easily, the language may be different but basically major cities transportation works the same
I find the place I'll be staying with ease, thanks john for the directions. Small 60 sq M apartment but the location is amazing. If I look out the window I can see the Eiffel Tower. Many amazing museums are in walking distance. We have a lunch, walk around, bread, walk around then a small cheese / dried meat apples and bread wine dinner. Then CRASH. out like a florescent. This morning I wake up about 5:00a.m. local time and go for a run. It's pretty amazing running around a foreign city with no one else out, I saw one other runner. The French sure are strange. They have about 1-2 hour lunch each day where they lay around the park and have wine or something, relax, read whatever. They have a good time out in the evenings, or so it seemed like it by the incredible amount of bottles in the park lawn or Champ de Mars and the many filled trash cans. They wake up late. When do these people make enough money to buy 300Euro shoes? When I ask. Hell they do it somehow and seemingly do it well. I can't wait to really experience Paris.

Travis

Advertisement



12th May 2008

Roadtipin
Turtle you have started a great adventure and how I wish I was there. Rewind to the Bahamas!!! Thanks for everything you did with your DJ speakers, video skills, and just those fun nights with Tortuga. We got your card and it was great… Now, for those first few moments in the park with the French. Let’s think about this because you say in the blog that you were up at 5am running and found a lot of bottles in the park? I like to think you woke up in the park with all the bottles. You need to get this story off to a good start. The French make money to buy fancy shoes just as you do to fly first class!!!!! If they are so loaded you better lasso you some ladies!!! Looks like you need to take them for a nice long lunch and party in the Park!!!! Have fun and keep me updated.
19th May 2008

Wakey, wakey, wine & cheese?
Hey, Travy! Ryan and I are sitting in Baltimore enjoying your blogs. Just wanted you to know we're thinking about you and hope you're truly having the time of your life. (And I sincerely hope you ate a chocolate crepe or 5 on my behalf...) Ryan says "If you pick up something, the clap only takes a shot as opposed to some of those life-longers..." Take care!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb