Unhappy People, Packed Lively City!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
November 21st 2007
Published: November 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So in Paris.........;
First thing, stuck at the train station with no lines running to my hostel!!!! shit.
Finally, a nice HUngarian student came to help me, brought me to this metro thats running and went to this station where I eventually found one bus running near my hostel.........
so late and tired, and rainy, got a nice crepe (oooooo they are soooooo gooooooood!!!!) and went to bed.......

Next day..COLD!! and WINDY!!!!! and I joined the free walking tour....
The same company that did the one in Berlin..but the guide wasnt as good......maybe coz it was cold....but last time it was rainy ar! anyways, went to the major sites, didnt soak up as much the history coz......the guide assumed everyone knew about the different revolutions in France? and the history behind all those Louis kings?? I only knew the one that did very well and that one that got beheaded!
The main part of the city was nice.....the style was pretty much mono, coz of the revolution they rebuilt everything....
The Effiel Tower was shorter than I expected!!!!! and it looks way better at night with the lights on.
The Arc de Triomphe Etoile also!!not as big as I thought it is, but it is pretty grand sitting in the middle of the roundabout..haaaa
The palaces were alright... the artwork outside the ROyal Palace was nicer than the palace itself! haaaaaaa
Lots of gifts from Egypt in this city as well.....
Gothic style started in France so they have so,e nice Gothic style churches around!! tho not so big.....and the interior of Notre Dame wasnt tooo grand, the exterior was very very nice tho!!!
The Louvre.....as seem in photos, the museum is bigger than I thought! and inside is just a maze! argh....
a lot of sections were closed the day I went....but its ok, I could walk thru it all at once anyways...haaaa! Some nice art.....French had lots of religous paintings as well, but I like the style better than those of Italy...less...."blurry"? haaaaaa The Mona lisa was crowded, and small, just walked passed it...haaa
It was interesting people watching place, coz you can see the young crowd just walking to the direction of the Mona Lisa, and then all other pieces just quickly scan and walk thru.......haaa...then the older crowd who got so tired and just sat down waiting for the people in the tour to finish listenign to the stories of the paintings...haaaaa! My fav was the one Nepolean crowned his wife......not that its famous coz I didnt know it was famous, but the scene and the details in that painting was very elegant! haaaa and I love the dresses the ladies wore in the painting!!!!! so nice!!!!!! haaaa!

Next day still raining, and I spend almost 4 hours time just travelling within Paris!!!!! waiting for metros, waiting to sqeeze into the metro, traffic on buses......argh. I waited for 6-7 metros to go by in order to sqeeze into one to get back to where I stayed at!!!!!!
Did go to the red light district and Montmartre area. raining so didnt go up the Sacre Coeur......but the district was interesting to walk..tho a little sketchy as well...so by the time it started to get dark, I headed straight back lu.

So today leaving for St. Malo, and the clouds left Paris! darn! big cities dunlike me......always gloomy at the capitals.....><"
Hope the strike stop sooon... I need trains to Luxembourg and Barcelona! qnd I was alll depending on Paris as the hub!
argh, didnt shop in Paris... and the one thing I wanted to buy was Avene products and they didnt have the SOS treatment thing I was using!!!!!! its in France???? ARGH!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

look up?look up?
look up?

most people dun look up qnd appreciate the ceilings of the museum!
beheaded.beheaded.
beheaded.

So besides people, the revolution crowd actually beheaded statues as well!
N for....N for....
N for....

yes, HIM.
Paris at nightParis at night
Paris at night

so much nicer...


Tot: 0.356s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb