I surived the first week!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 25th 2007
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yay! I surived the first week of classes-- AND I sort of understand what's going on!

Friday we finished the lectures about Paris from 1814-1914 by Pascal, who is the "Secrétaire Général de l'Ecole doctorale de Sciences-Po, maître de conférence à l'Institut d'Etudes Politiques et chercheur au Centre d'histoire de Sciences-Po" (aka a big shot at the political science university in Paris). He's pretty hilarious and really engaging in class... although we all fall asleep half way through the 1.5 hour lecture in the morning before the 10 minute break, followed by another 1.5 hour lecture!

After class today a bunch of us went to Place Monge and found a bar to hang out in for a while and find french boys to talk to. The boys part didn't work out too well as they were all American where we were, but c'est la vie. We left, ate baguettes and then went to another bar where we found some french people to talk to. It was fun, although kind of expensive. We started having long discussions about french politics and such, which was kind of amusing and interesting since almost everyone has lived in France before and knows a lot about it.

Most people were pretty tired, so they left early. I stayed around for a little while with a girl who just graduated from SMU, but needed an internship inorder to get a job, so she's doing this program for the fall. She was really nice, and we walked around St. Michel and then accross the Pont des Arts and had bunches of french men yelling at us... it was kind of fun. I really want to take cheese and wine and go there at sunset when there are less sketchy people around! We then walked through the Louvre and the Tuilleries and went our seperate ways to the metro. I had a nice little conversation with a french guy on the train... he said I spoke french well... so I wondering what his intentions were with me... because that certainly isn't true! It was cute, but he got off the train and I made my way back to the apartment.

A fun, but not very late night. I then went to bed for a long while, which was wonderful, although somehow I'm still tired now. I really need a shower as I smell like smoke from everyone (NOT ME!) smoking at the bars last night, but Camille has hung her clothes over the bath to dry, which is a little annoying. They've been there all day!

Anyway, I've added some more picturs... enjoy! I'm sorry they aren't the best quality, I'm still trying to figure out how to take pictures at night time with a million tourists moving around, trying not to look like one myself!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb