Gay Paris


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
April 22nd 2007
Published: August 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mum has been missing me so much that she decided to head over and meet up with me in Paris.

I have always wanted to go to Paris but was never really sure whether or not I would like it or if it would live up to my expectations. So from the Eurostar terminal at Gare du Nord I caught a local train to the hotel that I would be staying at with Mum, and to meet her. Mum spotted me accross the street and started calling out to me. So after lots of hugs and kisses we took my bags to our room and headed out to be tourists.

It was the most glorious day in Paris and it was about 28c. First stop, Notre Dame. Next, we purchased a two day pass for a double decker tour bus and jumped on. We saw all the big sights pretty much on the first day. It took me two days however I think to realise where I actually was. I didn't seem to be overwhelmed or really enthusiastic about where I was. Was it because I had met up with Mum after not having seen her for five months?

Anyway...........the next day we actually got off the bus to see things.......walk down the trully magnificent Champs Elysee............climb up the Arc de Triomphe, and that's when it hit me......and of course needless to say I cried! Standing up there and seeing my first 'view' of Paris was truly amazing......looking at this perfectly structured city with it's beautiful old buildings, gorgeous gardens, interesting landmarks, masses of glamerous people........just WOW!

I can't tell you how many hot chocolates and pan au chocolats I had.......one too many that's for sure.

So on day two we climbed the Eiffel Tower in the late afternoon. Well I didn't think I was too scared of heights but getting the elevator to the top was really scary. Oh how worth it was however. The lights coming on around the city was amazing. Once we got back down to the bottom, we sat on a wall of the riverbank and watched the light show. Probably one of the prettiest things I have ever seen..............like glitter being sprinkled over the Eiffel Tower.

I think one of my best memories from this trip to Paris was going to the Jardin du Luxembourg. We went and bought cheese, wine, grapes and a baguette and went to sit in the park. As we walked in, we saw all of these little old men sitting around tables playing chess. Something you only think happens in the movies.........but it's all real. It's so nice to see people do this.....reassuring too! So to our cheese and wine. Well we stayed in the park for hours and hours and we loved every minute of it. We were interrupted by two very chatty little French girls who decided to help themselves to our grapes. Very cute indeed. We ended up leaving when we were kicked out by security as they were closing the park for the evening.

Paris..................mmmmm! I just loved it. I think I could even pick Paris over Italy. Haven't seen enough of Italy yet though. I was very pleasantly surprised to find the French not so rude though, actually very lovely people!

Ash I hope to bring you here for New Year's Eve. Oh wouldn't that be just truly amazing???

I can't wait to come back here!!!!

Next stop - Barcelona in August!


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ParisParis
Paris

Mmmm I think I could live in an apartment like this
Almost thereAlmost there
Almost there

Another one of my AMAZING photos!
Basilique du Sacre CoeurBasilique du Sacre Coeur
Basilique du Sacre Coeur

So much more impressive than Notre Dame
Jardin des Tuileries - outside the LouvreJardin des Tuileries - outside the Louvre
Jardin des Tuileries - outside the Louvre

Having my first ever espresso. The most beautiful garden I have seen so far.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb