Glorious Venezia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
April 2nd 2007
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I decided to jump on the train from Verona and go and spend a day in Venice.........only a 1-2 hour train ride. After a snooze on the train, I woke up as the train was crossing the water to pull into the stazione. I was instantly on the edge of my seat. I got off the train and walked out of the station and down the steps to be greeted by a canal full of boats and gondolas and churches. I sat on the steps to soak in the atmosphere. I really couldn't believe that I was finally here.

So I bought my map and started my walking. The map was useless........way to big and hard to follow so I just followed the signs and the people. The architecture is unbeivable, the churches beautiful and the atmosphere? Well it is magical.........just like a fairy tale honestly. All quite surreal. You turn a corner and there are two Italian men, one playing the guitar and the other the violin. The next corner has a man putting on a puppet show. Another corner, people dressed in Venecian carnivale costumes. It didn't feel like it was all just for the tourists either.

Then there was the Piazza San Marco. I could tell I was getting close when I could see the tower. Standing in the middle of the Piazza I was surrounded by pigeons with music playing in the background from surrounding restaurants and cafes. Just another nice touch.

Venezia? Well somewhere that everyone has to visit. Don't do it in a rush......take the time to wander around.........and you will get lost at one point or another. I can't wait to come back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The biggest thickest pizza ever!The biggest thickest pizza ever!
The biggest thickest pizza ever!

Bub's this one is for you!


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb