Fare Verona


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Verona
March 31st 2007
Published: March 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I finally decided to pack my bags and head over to the continent and do something different for my birthday. I visited a friend who lives in Verona, Italy. As you may know, I love all things Italian, art.....history.....culture.........FOOD......and it has always been a dream to one day end up living there. Did it live up to my expectations??? Absolutely and much more! Although there is so much more of the country to see.

Getting off the plane and walking on the tarmac to get into the airport started the staring from men! You hear all the stories but it's quite funny when it actually happens. Upon arrving, my friend picked me up and took me straight into downtown Verona. WOW!!! It is so old and beautiful. So much history......which I love! The people are all dressed so nicely and take pride in the way the present themselves.

As I am sure you are all aware, Fare Verona is where Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet is set. Yes I went to the courtyard to see Juliet's balcony and her statue. You have to touch her right breast for good luck in love. The walls are totally covered in grafitti of lover's messages.

To celebrate my birthday and my friend Daiane's birthday (the day after mine) she took me to a very exclusive discoteque. A real experience in itself. Like another world. I felt like I was surrounded by famous Italian designers.........all these very glamourous people out to have lots of Moet to drink and spend lots of money on private booths that are for hire for hundreds and hundreds of euros.

My birthday was spent and a friend of Daiane's who had invited us over for lunch for our birthday. She did the traditional Italian meal of grilled vegetable, bread with olives and of course pasta for main and not to forget.....panetonne decorated with candles while she sang tanti aguri (happy birthday).

Monday I went to spend the day in Venice.....check out the Venice blog.

After more last minute sightseeing after Venice.............we went home to enjoy some mozzarella and proschiutto salad and gorgonzola on crackers with some red wine.

Very sad to have to say goodbye to Italy........but I'll be back very soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb