Voulez-vous de buerre?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
August 11th 2005
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The ThinkerThe ThinkerThe Thinker

I had an enjoyable afternoon here at the Rodin Museum.
Voulez-vous de buerre?
I can't remember my French.
I need some practice.

Okay, so asking if you want some butter is probably not going to come up in casual conversation much but it is one of the few pieces of French that I can remember and I think that was from an episode of the “Wonder Years” or something like that. LOL

Despite my lack of conversation Francais, I'm really enjoying myself here in Paris. What's not to love? The weather is sunny but not too hot. My hostel is centrally located. Great patisseries, boulangeries, cafes and brasseries everywhere. Architecture is amazing. People watching could become a sport for me. And even with my limited French I've had a few amusing conversations.

Just thought I'd make a short entry to let all know I'm safe and sound in Paris. Sarah and I were looking into going to EuroDisney for the day but it worked out to be pretty pricey so we decided not to go. Too bad the Asterix Park is even more expensive because I think I would have really enjoyed that one. lol I decided to do my own thing today and not feel guilty for "abandoning" Sarah since she's on the start of her Contiki tour plus she's wanting to see some of the stuff I've already seen the last couple of days.

Off to storm the Bastille...okay not really since the actual building was demolished years ago and just a monument stands in its place in a roundabout...

I can't believe that I'll be in Berlin tomorrow night!
Keep in touch.
Hugs and stuff.
Bonz xoxo

August 11th continued...

Rodin Museum
Nice walk in sculptures garden
Peaceful, relaxing.

It's a little sad thinking this is my last day in Paris. I've really enjoyed exploring the City more or less on my own and think I'm fully recovered from my tour bus burn out of last week. I took it pretty easy again today and did more exploring by foot checking out different little streets and what they have to offer...more shops, cafes, boulangeries, patisseries, brassieres (IE FOOD sources!) I did make it to the Musee Rodin and really enjoyed the sculptures, especially those in the garden. The place had a really nice setting and a great place to just stroll around. I think I spent a good couple of hours there in the garden and in the smallish two floor museum. I think I definitely appreciate sculpture more than paintings...haven't quite figured out why though. I guess, "Just because." lol

The only other thing I really went to see of importance was place de la Bastille. The Bastille no longer exists since the building that was stormed to free seven people was demolished years ago. Currently a monument sits in the middle of a roundabout in the Eastern part of Paris. Oh well, now I can say I saw it! Tick!

I also realized today that France is the only country I'll be visiting where I've only visited one city. Well, I guess when I go on that cruise next month (next month!) there will be four ports of call in four different countries. But that doesn't really count since each port of call is probably only about 6 to 8 hours, if that. lol

Also just looked in my calendar and today is day 227 of my big adventure. It's taken me 227 days to finally seek out some foot powder for my smelly boots I've been wearing lots of lately. Glad to report they are less smelly and I may make more friends again. lol It was quite an interesting experience trying to find a store that sells foot powder when you don't know what the word in French is for foot powder...poudre pour les pieds? Luckily I said "en anglais...foot powder" and then first few places knew what I was talking about but didn't stock any.

The first three nights at the hostel I've had a four bedroom dorm all to myself. Much to my dismay when I came back tonight there was another person's stuff in "MY" room. She has yet to return so maybe I shouldn't pass judgment quite yet even though she seems a bit on the messy side. Oh well, if she doesn't get back by 11 I guess I won't meet her since I’ll be in bed and will be getting up early tomorrow morning to catch my train to Berlin!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb