where'd all the good people go - jack johnson


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 15th 2007
Published: May 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

highs
got my first glimpse of the eiffel tower

lows
i'm in a mixed dorm and there's no door on the bathroom, just a shower curtain

people i've met
3 people in my dorm room (didnt ask their names) - a guy from melbourne, a girl from sydney & a guy from india


I left Bec's today and caught the Eurostar to Paris, which I would highly recommend over flying anyday. I then caught the Paris Metro to my hostel, which was much easier than I thought it would be. I walked out of the Metro station and tried to orientate myself and in the end just followed my nose. I came to where I thought the hostel should be and there was a big staircase right in front of me. I then had to decide 1. do I climb the staircase with my backpack on and then find out that the hostel isn't at the top?; or 2. do I walk around the block a bit and keep turning left until I get to where I think I should be?; well I chose 2 and it turned out that 1 was also correct, but I still don't think I would have made it up the stairs.

Even though I brought the rain with me from London I decided to go for a wander around town and start my sightseeing spree. I went back to the metro and tried to ask the cashier what kind of ticket would be best for the whole week, and she told me to go to the ticket machine without explaining anything - so I got my first taste of that famous French hospitality. Anyway I figured out the ticket machine and got myself a weekly ticket, and headed off to check out the Eiffel Tower. I found that really easy as well, but decided to wait for a sunny day to actually go up.

I've got to make this a short one cause I don't have much time left - I wasted heaps trying to figure out this keyboard...

Until next time...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb