Day 5 Englberg, Griffith


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Strasbourg
May 26th 2009
Published: June 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, May 26 was a great day for exercising. We started off by walking to the Mount Titlis ski operation. Which we learned many facts about the history and how they run things at the Mount Titlis ski operation. What's neat is that the very first ski lift they built is still used till this very day. After that brief lesson we headed up the mountain by a 6 person enclosed lift. Some parts I liked, for instances the few but I did not like that everytime we came to a pole our car would jerk which really scared me. After this life we had to tansfer on to a bigger one that was box shapped and could hold up to 8 people. In this lift there were these handles hanging from the ceilling by leather strappes with a ball on the end for you to grip. Then after this lift to higher up the mountain we had to transfer again. This lift was a round shape that revolved as we went up the mountain so everyone could see all the wonderful views. When we finally arrived after a 30 minute trip up the mountain we headed straight outside to look at the spectacular senary. I did not pack accordingly si I had to go down to the gift shop and buy a scarf and hat which is probably my favorite souvigner so far. When I headed back outside we were ready to go and play in the snow. Let me just say when you do not have skies it is quit difficult to get around. We walked up to the very tip top of Mount Titlis and spent a good amount of time just taking it all in and I know I was just trying to grasp that it was reality and not a dream. Since I was in jeans I did not want to slide down one of hills like some of the others so I took the long route and attepmted walking. When I got to the next hill I thought to myself when is the next time I will have a chance to slide in the snow with blue jeans on and so I did. It was worth having a wet behind for the next 2 hours. After getting down from the top there was this igloo but not really. I read something about how it was made like a bubble but I don't remember much about it but just that it was really cool. After those little activites we went and ate lung in the Mount Titlis resturant. The meal was pretty good, can't really complain but it was my least out the trip by far. After eating we our plan was to ride an inner tube down a hill but we had to get there first. So we walk to the ski lift and were all stadning in line and this group of Indian peopole just bumbard us but it was all good because we were all going the same place so it didn't really matter. Well, as we are standing there and the Indian people are waiting for the lift to come around they are trying to figure out who's sitting where like playing musical chairs. As the lift comes around everyone hops on but one kid who could not of been older then five. So were standing there as if it were slow motion watching this kid dangle from the lift because his parents would not pull him up to the chair and we are all yelling that the guy who works there to stop the lift before this poor child falls into frosty cold snow. Anyways he the kid ended up being fine and finally getting in the lift but it was quit a scarey experience. When get down to where we are supposed to we riding the inner tube down the hill I get a litte hesitant because as I'm watching people go before me I'm seeing that a few are getting some air as the go done the mountain because I was under the impression it was a hill but oh no in my eyes it was a full on mountain. Anyways, it's my turn to go and I plop down and there's no turing back. The guy working there grabs the rope connected to my inner tube and pushes me on my way.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb