Weekend in Beaune and Dijon


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Mulhouse
November 17th 2008
Published: November 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

What a weekend! Franzi, Lucy, Kate, and I went to Dijon and Beaune for the weekend. I had my 10km race in Beaune on Satuday and it was a lot of fun. I headed to Beaune on Friday morning to pick up my dossier for the race and then met Lucy, Kate, and Franzi later that night in Dijon where we were staying for the weekend. Kate has a friend studying in Dijon so she met us at the train station and took us to a little restaurant for dinner before heading to our hostel. The hostel we stayed at was about 20 minutes by bus from the train station but was really nice.
Saturday morning we woke up around 7:30AM and had breakfast at the hostel before heading out to catch a train to Beaune for the day. We arrived in Beaune around 11Am and had a few hours to be tourists before my race at 2pm. We walked around the center of town and had some vin chaud(warm wine) which was really good. I bought some Creme de Cassis and some jars of Dijon mustard!! We then sat at a little cafe right by the start line until I decided to get ready for the race. There were so many runners and the start was crazy packed with people. It was a 1/2 marathon and 10km race. I'm not sure how many runners total there were but probably over 4000. The race was a little slow at the start since there were so many people but once we got out into the wineries it was easier to pass people and get into a good pace. The 4th and 5th km were all uphill but thankfully the 6th and 7th were downhill. I finished in about 1:04:31, which isn't too bad I guess. We had little "championchips" to tie to our shoelaces to keep track of when we started and crossed the finish so I got keep my number. And of course, at the end we had to pass through a tent to receive our "sac de coureurs" with lots of goodies and food and water and jucies, and last but not least....a bottle of wine! So cool! Franzi, Lucy, and Kate were all there to greet me at the finish and they got a lot of good pictures!
After the race we took the train back to Dijon, showered and rested, before going out for a nice big dinner in town! It was a great day. Beaune is a really neat little French town right in the heart of Bourgogne and I'm glad I signed up for this 10km or I may never have come here. Sunday we walked around Dijon a bit before our getting a train back to Mulhouse.
Hope you enjoy all the photos!
Talk to you later...
Kristen😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

P1040925P1040925
P1040925

Lucy, Franzi, and I drinking some vin chaud
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

the start


17th November 2008

I am continually jealous! This looks like a beautiful town with amazing food! And look at you kicking ass in the running world! I'm so proud roomie! Miss you!
17th November 2008

I am continually jealous! This looks like a beautiful town with amazing food! And look at you kicking ass in the running world! I'm so proud roomie! Miss you!
17th November 2008

I am continually jealous! This looks like a beautiful town with amazing food! And look at you kicking ass in the running world! I'm so proud roomie! Miss you!
19th November 2008

Fanciness
That is a fancy running outfit you are wearing Madame. When we come, where should we stay? And how much dollahs do you suggest we bring? And should we just do our conversion like we did in Montreal through the ATM? I'm so excited!!! Can we go to Germany!?! Please! :-)

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb