Freiburg-im-Brisgau


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Alsace » Mulhouse
November 12th 2008
Published: November 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hallo!

Yesterday, Amy, Ross, Andromeda, Gemma and I took the bus from Mulhouse to Freiburg in Germany. The bus picked us up around 8:20 and we arrived in Freiburg just after 9:30 I think. It was 7.50euros one way so I think I will be going to Freiburg more often. It was a great day!

We walked around through the centre ville and around Munsterplatz where the Munster Cathedrale is located. There was a marché(outside market) with venders selling fruits, vegetables, cheese, sausage and so on. We also did some shopping throughout most of the morning and I bought another pair of gloves, so I don't need to depend on one pair once it gets colder! We then decided to hike up this trail to the top of this hill that overlooked the city and out into the Black Forest. The view was definately worth the hike! After our little hike we got a sandwich with a nice big piece of German sausage in the middle and then decided we should have a beer since we were in Germany. We found a little bar to sit down for a while.
We caught a bus back to Mulhouse around 3:45.

Freiburg is a really nice city and we all agreed we would be coming back. I was told it's especially nice at Christmas for the Christmas markets.

Yesterday I had to be at school at 7:45am to help Myriam with the "oraux blancs" for her BTS students. It's a practice exam for their official exam they will take in May or June. I had 10 students over 2 hours and they each had 20 minutes: 10 minutes to prepare the article I had chosen and then 10 minutes to summarize what they read, answer my questions and then some vocabulary on car parts. I think I was more nervous than the students but it went well. Then after the exams Myriam and I met to grade them. So I gave out my first official French grades! In France they are graded from 1-20 and to receive a 20 it must be perfect. (I think it's really hard to get a 20) The highest grade I gave was a 16 and the lowest grade I gave out was an 8. I feel very French now.

Today I have 2 hours at school and then I'm finished for the week! Tomorrow I leave in the morning to head to Beaune/ Dijon for my race on Saturday! Franzi, Lucy, and Kate(some other Assistants) are coming with me to cheer me on and so we're making a weekend out of it! Should be fun! Wish me luck! I'll write you all about it when I return! I'll make sure they get lots of pictures of me running!

Talk to you soon!
Kristen😊

Advertisement



13th November 2008

Sounds like
you're having a great time and it's more like vacation than work! Seriously, these French kids are never in school. Very jealous! Good luck this weekend!!!! xoxo
13th November 2008

:)
Awww you're such a teacher, that's great! It must feel pretty neat. Good luck on your race this weekend!!! I look forward to seeing the pictures :)
13th November 2008

you gave an 8!
Kris - I love the description of the trips. Keep them coming. As a mother, not a teacher like your family, i must comment on the 8. Did the kid really deserve an 8. Think about when he or she went home - mama was not happy. Popa was less happy. The kid's night was ruined! That had to be an F right? Can't wait to hear about the next trip. Keep it coming... love, AUnt Kate
14th November 2008

KRIE!
KRISTEN REILLY KRISTEN REILLY KRISTEN REILLY!!!!!! Erin got her vacation approved so I'm putting in for mine today!!! Good luck on your race!!!! Viel Glueck!!! Bis spaeter dann!! A biento(owiththehat)t!!!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0582s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb