Notes from Last Week


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Had my first full week at work and really enjoying it. Lunch is taken about 11.30am, some people in my department have gone down at 11.15am. As you can imagine by 4pm I’m starving! There’s a system for going around the canteen, which I didn’t really get. But luckily I found the colour coded map to assist me in future lunchings. Im using the the menu to try and add some more words to my very limited vocabulary.
Loving the fact that I have a desk that I can raise to standing level, always gives a nice change to seating down, all hunched over.

Picking up the free metro paper each morning as, 1 it makes me look like a local and 2 it has the TV listings at the back.

Bikes are everywhere! Two people at work cycle in, and it’s not just down the road from where they live. Everyone has one, and the majority are the classic style bikes, not mountain. My boss is trying to get me to use the department bicycle, but I prefer walking at the moment, until I get my bearings. Parents cycle to the school with their kids either by a seat on the back wheel or in a box on the front if it’s a tricycle.


Censoring seems to be a little more relaxed. Was listening to breakfast radio on DR P5000 and in the space of 5 minutes heard the F word a few times during songs as it hadn’t been blanked out. Could you imagine if that had happened on Radio 1 Breakfast Show? Chris Moyles would have been thrown out the building, Daily Mail would have started a campaign, the BBC would be fined, an internal investigation would begin and probably would end up being discussed in Parliament.

Also did you know that ‘Sexy Chick’ by David Guetta and Akon is actually ‘Sexy B***h’! I feel like the BBC has been lying to me all these months.

Then to add to my horror was just watching one of the music channels and there was a disturbing advert. TDC (Danish version of BT) have an advert running which involves a naked woman and man, the down belows were covered but there is a very interesting scene in which the lady, who isn’t that young, is doing exercises on a gym ball. And the time this advert was on... 7.30pm. I’m surprised that Daily Mail haven’t warned ‘unsuspecting, innocent’ British tourists that they shouldn’t visit Denmark because of this



Friday night was kulturnatten, which is where the whole of Copenhagen opens up for the evening. All I had to do was buy a kit for 80;- (just over £10) and gave me free entry into about 150 buildings. I visited the botanical gardens, post & tele museum, the round tower, the black diamond and church of christianholm palace. I didn’t stop until about 11pm. Most of the places were open until midnight and some had concerts. I can really recommend it if any in is Copenhagen around the same time next year. A lot of the activities are aimed at children and very family based. I’ve certaintly noticed that the family in Copenhagen (and probably the rest of Denmark ) is very much important.

Click here for photos of Copenhagen

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb