Quick Update


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
July 26th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

RoadRoadRoad

This road led up to the apartment we stayed in in Switzerland. It was a struggle trudging up and down it ever day!
Today I am going with my host family to Bornholm again for a week. Straight after that, Julz is coming to visit for a week. So I thought I should get another blog entry in before I do too much and it becomes I chore! I've got to be quick cause we're leaving soon.

On the 26th my host family and I started the drive down to Switzerland. We stayed in Switzerland for a week, in an apartment in the Alps. Also staying near by us was Johannes' mother and step father, as well as his step fathers children. We spent a lot of time with them and I got a long pretty well with all Johannes' step siblings.

We went walking almost everyday. I was completely blown away by how huge the mountains were. They look big from the bottom looking up, but when you get to the top and look down, you realize that they are gigantic! And the view, of course, is spectacular.

On one of the days we went to Milan. The main reason we went was to see Da Vinci's Last Supper, but the church it was in was close for renovations, so
Mini Golf?Mini Golf?Mini Golf?

My host brother and sister looking down at the mini golf course in Switzerland. We played the next day, and Eric had a tantrum because he didn't win. Don't you love small children?
we couldn't! It was very disappointing, but Milan was still a nice place to visit. On the drive back, we were in a car accident. It wasn't very serious, and no one was hurt, but it was a big shock for me. I was in the passenger seat, where the car was hit, and I could see the other car coming towards us, and that the girl driving wasn't even attempting to slow down. It was very strange.

A few days after that we drove to Canne, in France, to spend a week and a half relaxing. We did a lot of shopping and swimming at the beach and pool. We also went to Nice for a day to see Chegall's art gallery, and to do some general exploring. I have to say, I didn't really like Chegall's art...

We got home about a week ago and have mostly been relaxing since. It was a great trip, but I must admit I was very glad to be back in Denmark. My host brother is now completely at ease with me, and treats me like another sibling, which has it's pro's and con's. It can be very annoying, and
Soccer in the SkySoccer in the SkySoccer in the Sky

On one of the days in Switzerland I took Eric and Elisabeth for a walk to give the adults a break. We mucked around on this field and the playground next to it for about and hour. I thought it was really cool cause when you lay down and looked out at the view it felt like the soccer field was just suspended in mid-air.
between you and me, it's much nicer when he's at school for half the day, and only at home for the other half! Don't get me wrong, I like him very much, and he's almost like another brother to me now too. My host sister, as well, is great. We often play cards together and we now have a daily routine of making tea and then watching Top Model and NCIS. It's nice 😊, and she is very sweet.

On Friday night I broke my chain of relaxing days and went to a concert in Tivoli (which is a big amusement park in the middle of Copenhagen) with a few other exchange students. We saw the Kaiser Chiefs. They were so good and we got there early so we were only a few meters away from the stage. Here's one of the videos I took (the photos didn't turn out very good):



I think you can hear me singing and screaming... Haha!

Then yesterday, I went with my host family to a friends house for dinner. I was really tired so not really looking forward to it but I ended up having a great time.
Rooftops (Switzerland)Rooftops (Switzerland)Rooftops (Switzerland)

The houses were fantastic - they looked like they'd bee there for hundreds of years.
They have a 16 year old daughter called Natasha and we really hit it off. We swapped numbers and she asked her mum if I could come over and have a sleep over with all her friends some time. I'm really happy about this because she lives about 20 minutes away on foot, and all my exchange student friends live so far away.

Anyway now I really have to go. It's time for dinner and then I'm off to Bornholm! I'm so excited!

I'll check back in in about two weeks time :D

Hope everyone's well!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Winding RoadWinding Road
Winding Road

I took this when we were leaving Switzerland, winding our way down the mountains. We had to stop the car after about 15 minutes of driving because Elisabeth and Eric both decided they were car sick.
View from our windowView from our window
View from our window

In Canne, France. We often sat out there in the evenings relaxing, and the kids spent a lot of their time in that pool.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb