Backtracking


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
January 21st 2008
Published: January 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

As promised here are some little things I wrote down as I was travelling to Copenhagen so this starts after I arrived in Dublin to transfer planes.....


1/19/08 5:00am Dublin Time (12 US)
Been here less than 30 minutes and already it's so much different than home. Well I guess I've only really seen the airport and I dont know the airport at home that well either. People watching is def not the same, everyone is so trendy and stylish and there are a lot of young people, just european I guess. There are so many different languages flying around. I'm not looking foreward to getting on another plane, already feeling kinda crappy from the first 5 1/2 hours. I actually got to eat tofu on the plane though haha. I have to wait about an hour for my next plane, and then it will be about 2 hours to Copenhagen!


1/19/08am Copenhagen 4:00pm
Been in the airport the last few hours and already running into troubles. I exchanged some money for Danish Kroner so I could get some coffee. The money thing is going to be hard to get used to, 29 kroner for a cup of coffee! You have to take everything and divide it by 5 to get the equivalent in the U.S. but regardless everything is still very expensive. They have so many taxes on everything, about 70% of Danish income goes to taxes!! Think about that while your filing your taxes these next few weeks! But they get a lot of things we dont, subsidized daycare, free healthcare, free education, and 7 weeks vacation. I just had an awesome $11 sandwhich... which is about 59 kroner. I'm just sitting here waiting for my friend Colin to get in so we can try and make it to the hostel, I can't wait to get there for some sleep!

Advertisement



22nd January 2008

I'm so proud
Amanda, I don't know how you do it! What an exciting journey to be going through. The apartment looks so cute, seems to have everything you need. We miss you here. It seems so quiet without you running in and out! Enjoy every moment, even the difficult ones, they just make for better story telling! All my love, Mom
22nd January 2008

All good
Hi Amanda- Glad to hear your travels went well, I'm sure you were ready to get off that plane in COP. Be safe and take it all in, what a great experience for you. Please collect some coins for my coin collection while you are there. Always in my thoughts. Love Uncle Dan
23rd January 2008

So happy for you
I'm so glad you made it safe and sound. This is such a wonderful experience that you get to have for the next 6 months. I'm not going to write too much because I the old timer has never used blogs before. So lets see if you even get this message. Hope to see you on your blog and hear back from you.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb