hot? but its only 27 degrees


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
July 17th 2003
Published: July 17th 2003
Edit Blog Post

Everyone here keeps going about how hot it is, but its so much cooler than italy, and there is a refreshing breeze. the thermometer by parlement only goes up to 30C... haha.

i can drink the tap water, get orange juice with ice, a decent tea, and the men dont stare... ahhhh.

So after the whole fiasco with getting to brussels, i made my flight to Copenhagen and got here 15 min late. The airport was full of a huge christian group. i grabbed my bag and hit the S-train to town. The S-train was clean, fast and comfortable, a fantastic change after the Rome MetRo. I got to the central station in downtown, grabbed a HUGE daneburger and a cold OJ and headed down to the hotel. For my birthday mom had got me a hotel room. WOW. After all i had dealt with i was thrilled to be in a cozy bed, take a barefoot shower... even better, a BATH for my poor feet. Mom called to talk and also had tea sandwiches and OJ w/ice sent up to my room 😊 . i saved some sandwich but drank all the juice and settled in for a long sleep.

I got up breifly to eat at the free breakfast buffet, to find that (part) of the group from the airpaort was staying at the hotel... and this isnt any group, but a group of Jehovahs witnesses, they are all over town, staying at a bunchof different hotels. I met Anja who had read an email mom wrote about me cheking inlate, and she was so sweet and extended my chekcout time to 2pm so i could sleep more and shower again. She also found me a hostel and invited me to dinner at her apt. She is so sweet.

From there i checked into the hostel and just wandered for the day, i needed the day to stay low key and relaxed. Then i met Anja and her boyfriend Anders for dinner at their flat. They fed me a 3 course danish meal, salad w lettuce, crab, shrimp, avacado, sour cream and chive. A quick stewed chicken carrots and roast potatos on the side and a summer soup with buttermilk and sweet biscuts for desert. wow... and tea! They were sweet and invited me to come back today so i can do my laundry and take a decent shower. yay. they were so sweet and we spent lots of time talking about traveling as Anja lived in london for 9 months and Anders drove cross country after spending a week in NYC. They are really awsome, and i went back to the hostel quite late.

I understand why mom and muzz love Copenhagen so much, it is a very upbeat city, but still feels small in a way. Many signs are in 3 to 4 languages, if not, someone can help. You will hear two people speaking in Danish, with english and french words and phrases dispersed in the converstation. Everyone is very nice, and it is very clean and pedestrian friendly, except for the bikers. There are TONS of bikes, i may rent one!
Tania would love all the fantasy sculptures... i hope she is doing well in greece.
Another note, women here wear functional footwear, unlike in France and Italy. I also blend better, people here are pale like me.
Now off to explore....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb