Pinky Swears & Skydiving


Advertisement
Denmark's flag
Europe » Denmark » Region Hovedstaden » Copenhagen
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy People at The Happy PigHappy People at The Happy PigHappy People at The Happy Pig

USA, Norway, Italy; and all marvelous
Circle dance was decent after all; more so the food and drink than the orientation program. Maybe because eating is so primal, universal…? A veritable UN of diners. Political scientists…and a smaller minority of theorists. Philosophers. Fools.

Anyway, The Happy Pig (translation to come) is now a new favorite spot…as is Ns’ company. Hopefully the pinky-swear to teach me Danish carries as much weight here as it does in the States (THE States?). Transgression of the time-honored schoolyard tradition: unspeakable crime.

Not sure if I should be writing now…a little buzzed. Things always seem to look worse in the morning than in this happy state. Utopia. No place. JP swears by writing, drawing, etc. drunk (et. al.)…maybe there’s something to be said for it?

I did manage to navigate the S-trains pretty well even in this condition. I think I’ve caught on pretty quickly to the train/Metro system. Can’t say as much for the Danish language. Although to be fair, I’ve only be here for 3 days.

Moved into my place today. Absolutely adore the couple I’m living with. F in particular is especially friendly and easy to get along with. Similar sense of humor.

Osterbro,
My FirstMy FirstMy First

Picture of Copenhagen
according to Ns, is where the “rich and boring people” live; I am of course the noted exception. Quiet, clean, comfortable…a good place to come home to. Five hours and I already feel at home. Amazing.

I was excited to have packed my nice leather boots as many Danish women wear them over jeans. I fit right in “quite well”, even by a Dane’s standards.

Ns was kind enough to trot around 3 Americans today to get our CPR numbers (sort of like a S.S. card) and student IDs today. Twenty minutes in the office and I’d been assigned a doctor whom I can see any time, free of charge. Say what you will about the welfare state, universal healthcare has no sane opponents.

Tomorrow is my first class. Meeting up with C afterwards to head over to Student Haus (sp?) and check out the International Night (every Wed.). Also to celebrate a T’s birthday. Apparently he’s having a quarter-life crisis. I suggested skydiving as an appropriate combination of solution and celebration. The plan was a hit, and quickly developed to include 25 pre-skydiving shots, 25 skydiving flips, and 25 puking episodes afterwards.

There is far
Happiness Is...Happiness Is...Happiness Is...

I guess someone's eyes have to be closed in every picture
too much I’ve already seen and learned about Copenhagen to capture in my intoxicated writing. I’m afraid I’ll have to take up the task another time. Hopefully soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb