Prague


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
August 7th 2010
Published: August 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

August 5 - Today was a good day. I woke up at 7:30am and decided to look for a new place to live for the rest of my time in Prague since I didn't sleep well. I looked at some places on the internet but realized all the good ones were far away and I was tired of being far from the center. So I decided to stay, for at least another night. With that done, I made some instant noodles for breakfast and checked out some other information on the internet.

When I was ready I walked out and searched for the nearby old town. Of course, using my map I went the wrong way initally, like usual. But I made it there soon enough and it was perfect. The weather was gorgoeous, with beautiful blue skies, so I took a ot of pictures knowing that it would get cloudy later. I went up the town hall tower for good views, went inside of the two large churches dominating the square, watched the astronomical clock do it's thing on the hour and walked around getting a feel for the place. Next I went on the free walking tour at 11am. There were so many people - 160 at last count - that they separated everyone into four groups based on the number on the ticket they gave you when you arrived. As number 56, I was in the second group. The last time I saw so many people for a free tour was in Jerusalem. My guide had only done two tours or so before, but he did a good job today. He took us to the old town, the new town, the Jewish quarter and the Charles Bridge, looking over at the Prague Castle. I learned a lot of the Czech history, which is just as crazy as Poland's. The weather got progressively cloudier as the day went on, but it didn't rain and it stayed cooler, so that was nice. Even better, the guide took us to a bagel place for lunch for almost half an hour - too much time I think, but all the groups showed up and the line got long - and i had a bagel and cream cheese! I have not really been able to find bagels in Europe, especially not good bagels. It was so nice to have one. Fantastic!

The tour ended at 2:30pm, and from there I decided to go to the Charles Bridge and the castle to have a look around. I went with Dan, a guy from Boston that I met on the tour. We had a nice time strolling around, taking pictures and chatting. It has been a relatively lonely trip for me, and it was nice to have someone nice to talk to. We eventually made it back to the old town and then had dinner at my Chinese place from yesterday. Afterwards we said good bye and I went to a nearby grocery store under a department store for some fruit and a coke. I can't get enough coke these days. Now it's time to think about plans for tomorrow.

August 6 - see Kutna Hora

August 7 - Ok, let me let you in on a little secret. I am going home today. And I am excited. The trip has been great, but I am ready to go home and relax and spend time with my friends for ten days before work starts again. Even better, and here is the secret, I have told my boyfriend that I will be home Wednesday and that I have an overnight train to Budapest tonight. I am actually flying home late tonight and will surprise him at lunch tomorrow. I've asked friends to invite him to lunch, and I will be there instead. 😊 I'm excited but it's hard to keep the secret.

I've just had some instant noodles for breakfast - and I was not the only one. It is raining out and will be most of the day, I think. I am going to spend the day in the Jewish museum, which is a collection of buildings and synagogues in the old Jewish quarter. Each has a different exhibit. Then perhaps I will try my hand at shopping, however much I hate it. Though I did see some Hellman's mayonnaise that will be making the journey with me, that is for sure.

Well, the day went differently than I had foreseen. I left the hostel just before 9am and headed straight to the Jewish Museum. I navigated there quite well and then found out that it was closed today. Damn. I was really looking forward to one more day of depressing information. But, the day was depressing enough. It was rainy all day - I don't think it ever let up. I tried to decided where to go, but it is hard in the rain. I thought I would sit in the Tyn church to look at my travel guide for some ideas, but I found a nice dry nook instead, so I stayed there. I decided to go to the Communism Museum, so headed over that way. I spent about an hour inside, reading all of the exhibits and watching some documentary work they had playing about communism in Czech Republic. So awful how oppressive communism was. I found myself crying during the movie, watching the violence of the police on the public as they had demonstrations. One twenty year old man burned himself alive in the square where I walk each day, in protest. How did it get so out of control?

From there I took a stroll along a main shopping street and saw TGI Fridays. I thought about eating there and went in to look at the menu. It was expensive - maybe slightly more than in the US - but it was still cheaper than any restaurant in Basel and the last day of my trip. So I decided to have a nice lunch and sit and read to avoid the rain. But then the waiter asked me if I wanted smoking or nonsmoking, and I decided not to eat there. I really hate smoking. And lately, smokers. I can't believe how many people do it and how everywhere it is, especially here. I have really been excited about the prospect of getting away from it. And how can you make part of a restaurant non-smoking?

So I walked away from the possibility of American flavors, back into the rain to think about my next step. There was always Chinese, but it seemed dull when compared to my last choice. I walked around some more and then finally made the decision to go back to Fridays. I was breathing in so much smoke just walking around the streets that I thought it might actually be easier breathing inside. And it was. And the food was delicious, though smaller than in the states. Normally that's not the case in an American restaurant abroad. But I sat and ate and read David Copperfield. I am really enjoying the book now, thanks Dickens.

Once I decided to leave it was really raining. I walked over to a department store and bought some shortbread cookies for an addict I know at home, and then went to the grocery store for my mayo. I just can't get good mayo in Basel. Then back to the hostel where I dropped off my purchases and asked about a movie theater. The girl checked the times for me and sent me on my way to see Shrek - in English! And it turns out the theater was right acorss from Fridays! If only I'd seen it the first time. I had about 50 min to kill, so I just read my book some more and then settled into my chosen seat. In some of these countries you have to choose your seat ahead of time. I had fun watching the movie and then walked back to the hostel.

By then it was 5:45pm and I got my bags and shifted some things around for the journey home. I wrote a quick email or three, put the rain fly on my bag, and made my way to the subway. It was my first subway ride in Prague. I had to go a few stops and then switch to a bus, which I had a little trouble finding. The bus driver was just about to pull away but I ran after him, arms flailing, and he waited for me. From there it was twenty minutes on the bus and then a quick check in to drop off my bag, as I had already checked in online. Then I grabbed a burger and milkshake at McDonalds - one last hurrah - and then headed through security. It was only then that I realized as I walked around that there were no money changers in the security area. I had seen one downstairs earlier, but they were away at the time. So it took ages for me to walk out of arrivals, back around to departures, change my money, and back through security. The money changer couldn't switch it all into Swiss franks, so I asked for the rest in dollars. But he gave it all to me in dollars, because otherwise it would be another fee-inducing transaction. So now I have money for the states at Christmas to go directly from the airport to Chili's. 😊 I even beeped at security, then didn't, but she still had to feel me up to let me through. Nice. So my trip is ending and I board the plane in ten minues. I am excited to get back after a day like this. It was not a good day for Prague, but a good one for making me think I made the right choice to leave today.

Thanks for following along on this journey, and I hope it inspired some travel. Or at least, that you enjoyed the pictures and mishaps.




Additional photos below
Photos: 58, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



9th August 2010

Thank you for so many great stories and pictures. It never ceases to amaze me what an avid traveler you have become. This trip has been especially interesting and exciting for me because of our family history. How wonderful to think you visited places where my grandparents and your great-grandparents were born and spent part of their lives. Pictures were wonderful!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb