Prague - Day 2


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
November 30th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy 85th birthday, Mom!Happy 85th birthday, Mom!Happy 85th birthday, Mom!

Me and my Mom - summer 2006
Hi everyone,

Greetings from Iceland, actually! We landed this afternoon. I didn't have time to finish the Prague blog until now.

But, let me get to THE most important news today (it's Friday, Nov. 30th)........it's my Mom's 85th birthday! Happy Birthday to you, Mom (that would be Helen Fortin, resident at The Carrington Retirement Residence in Trenton, Ontario). I am sending you lots of birthday wishes, hugs and kisses from Iceland! Can't wait to see you (soon) and share the stories of my world tour adventures!

Ok, so on to Prague. It's Day 2 and we are back on the bus, heading out for a city tour. It's a cold, blustery day today (unlike yesterday!) and we definitely feel the chill in the air. My heart goes out to Ed and Marge Keegan from California!!!!! We visited the National Theatre, Charles Bridge, Belvedere, Loreta, Prague Castle, the Royal Palace and St. Vitus Cathedral. The tour takes a few hours. At the Cathedral, the wind was extremely strong and cold; some people opted out of the tour a bit early and headed to the Coffee/Hot Chocolate/Latte shop to wait for the rest of us! It was very interesting driving around the city, seeing the splendid architecture and the colors that adorn the buildings (unlike during the days of communism!). We have a great tour guide and learn lots.

The afternoon is free time for us again. Carroll, Fay, Brenda and I headed out to do a bit more shopping (them, actually; I watched!). Then it was time to head back to the hotel and get ready for the evening. There were 2 options: the opera (not for me, thanks!) or the Philharmonic (which I chose; it was the first time for me). A bus took us to the location and it was an absolutely incredible show. (The first part was a bit mellow. I had had a glass of wine, the theatre was very warm, there were women surrounding me doused in various types of perfume, giving me an instant headache ........I could barely stand it.........and so I had a bit of a nap I am told by Carroll and Brenda!). Louise, you should have been there! You would have absolutely loved it! The music was incredible; the second half was much more upbeat and I really did love it! (I wasn't the only one having a bit of a snooze.........). Anyway, it was a most enjoyable evening. The usher allowed me to take a few pictures, which is not normally allowed.

Back to the hotel for a "farewell" cup of tea and dessert and a visit with some of the other passengers. It was a splendid evening. And I had a GREAT sleep. Did I tell you that I LOVE my room????!!!!!!!

We were up at a decent hour this morning and on our way to Iceland. It was bittersweet, because this is where we leave the Icelandic crew who have been with us this whole month. We are like family. We were duly entertained on the plane, as you will see from the pictures!

When we arrived, we knew it was going to be chilly but, holy cow Batman, the wind almost blew us off our feet when we came out of the terminal! We know that our days are numbered now, which is ok in a way.......some people have a cold and it will begin making its way around the group. Get me out of "da plane" before it hits me, please! I had my share of that last year!!!!!!

For now, sit back, relax and enjoy the photos of Prague. I felt sad to leave. I really do love that city!

(Good night, Mom, and Happy Birthday again. I love you and will see you soon!)

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Hah, the "work-aholics" are everywhere!Hah, the "work-aholics" are everywhere!
Hah, the "work-aholics" are everywhere!

This guy was working in his car while driving next to our bus......
The famous "Fred and Ginger" buildingThe famous "Fred and Ginger" building
The famous "Fred and Ginger" building

It doesn't really fit with the architecture in and around the city.
Motley crew at the Cathedral!Motley crew at the Cathedral!
Motley crew at the Cathedral!

The wind was blowing.......gotta stick together!
Here come the guards.......Here come the guards.......
Here come the guards.......

and those are working dogs!


1st December 2007

Oh Happy Pat!
Oh Happy Pat...you crack me up! From your caption under one of the photos of the guy on the camel "same guy, same camel as last year!"...LOL then the security guard sleeping on the bus...LOL. I missed your blogging terribly during your hiatus. Worth the wait though to all that was coming next. I looooooved the photos of Dubai. WoW!!! And Egypt...awesome! A Happy Birthday shout out to your mom..."Happy Birthday Happy Pat's Mom." Thanks again for your amazing blog Pat. It's been so exciting getting to follow along. The tour is coming to an end. I hope you all had the trip of a lifetime. Enjoy Iceland and may you all have a safe trip back. - Jenny (Travel Guild Staff)
1st December 2007

Blog Withdrawals...
Hey Happy Pat, There are likely to be more than a few of us, who will have "blog withdrawlas." The little Africa hiatus was done to ease us out of checking our emails for new sights and adventures, eh? You, in turn, might need to send some to work out the habit of sending recaps of your days. What a fabulous time you have had - great food, memories, experiences, camaraderie, and pictures to prove it. Well done - BRAVO! Take care, Linda
1st December 2007

Thanks, Jenny!
I am so glad that the staff at Travel Guild had the opportunity to "travel along" with us! You deserve it, after all the work you've done to make this trip go so smoothly for all of us. I know that "blog withdrawal" will begin soon, ha ha........perhaps people would like to read my daily journal after this!!!! Yuk Yuk. We're in Iceland and about to head out on an amazing day of touring (even though there is only 5 hours of daylight here right now!) See you all soon!
2nd December 2007

Hello From Down Under
Hello from Down Under!! We have continued to follow your blog; Pat you are such an entertaining writer! You must be sad that the trip is coming to an end, but again, what an experience!! We were up north in the Borassa Valley close to Adelaide.....it was intensely hot, plus 37! Almost too hot, there I just said that. But we loved visiting the cellar doors. Now we are south, in Robe, on the ocean; Lobster for dinner tonight!! (they call it crayfish) Keep in touch, Kevin and Gail
2nd December 2007

And this is it!
Hi Kevin and Gail! It's been fun having you along on our journey; but also, to be able to follow your own wonderful trip! Yes, I am feeling a bit sad, but I have picked up a cold and so it's time to get back to my own bed now! It's been a fantastic opportunity and I am grateful to have had it. To do the trip a second time was a ton of fun! I will definitely be keeping in touch!
3rd December 2007

Thanks from Anne
Well, Happy Pat! - I just returned from a 3-day trip and am now enjoying the last of your story. Those folks don't know how lucky they were to have Happy Pat as their leader - your blog is a wonderful work of art - I have felt as if I was taking the trip all over again when following along daily. It is 9:30 Sunday and I have a feeling that you have now touched down in Toronto - what a wild welcome winter day heralded you. Hope to see you soon. Anne
3rd December 2007

Going Home
Hello Pat, By now you will be back home and hopefully not having to recover from a bad cold!!! What a wonderful trip (again) and thank you so much for allowing us to follow along with you! Keep in touch, Kevin and Gail

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb