The Daily Grind


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
November 18th 2007
Published: November 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone,

I don’t have much to write now but I did promise to try and update this more often!

Life is still good, although I have to admit with the holiday season approaching I have been feeling the first symptoms of homesickness. Luckily my aunt Anne is coming to visit me for the holiday weekend so I’m sure that taste of home will help! I was appointed to the position of co-social coordinator for the staff at the start of the year and I organized a nice little dinner (at a restaurant since you all know I can’t cook to save my life). I’m looking forward to the dinner, especially the food…mmm mashed potatoes and pumpkin pie! Of course I’m sure it won’t be half as good as Grandma Alice’s and Grandma Melchert’s, but its better then nothing! One of my friends from school (the other girl from MN!) is also having a Thanksgiving dinner this coming weekend so I should be well fed come Monday!

School is going really well. I had been having some problems with my class earlier this year, they are all great kids but I guess you could say that some of them defiantly have some very strong personalities! I can’t count how many times I’ve been told that I have the toughest class in the school and that this year will hands down be my hardest year of teaching. It really hasn’t been all that bad but after a lot of talking with the heads of the school we finally decided that I should have a classroom aid three days out of the week. This new system starts tomorrow and I am so excited, it will be a great improvement for my own teaching and my class, plus just having another adult in there will save me when my students who are full of personality are having an off day.

Tomorrow is also the start of Book Week at school. I’m sure it comes as no surprise that I am more then a bit excited for it! A few teachers are performing a play tomorrow to kick it off and I obviously am playing Prince Charming…was there ever any doubt?  I’ll try to get some pictures up of it next week! Throughout the week I am also hoping to get some of my students parents to come in and read to the class in their respective languages, I have eleven different languages spoken in my class so that should be interesting!

Okay I have been putting off the writing of my students reports for a bit now and I really should finish them…ugh. I miss you all tons and can not wait to hear from you! Email or mail me and I promise to respond (I’m a lot better at responding to emails…but I do like both )

Take care, I miss you!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb