To long


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
November 5th 2007
Published: November 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Okay again I have no excuse for not updating this sooner, although last week was crazy busy! I don’t have any reason other then laziness for the other weeks though, sorry

Life in Prague has been great, crazy busy but great. I guess the best way to catch up on this is to just break my life in to sections and get to it.

Holiday

Three other teachers and I went on a whirlwind trip to Vienna over our half term break. It was a cold but brilliant vacation. We left (way to early) on Wednesday morning and came back Friday night. Now I’ve been doing a ton of traveling these last few years and I really just needed a break and that was all this trip really was. Other then walking around a bit on our first night the only other touristy thing we really did was to get on one of those tour buses and ride around for the afternoon. The best part though was that by the time we made it on the bus we were all knackered (side note: Austrian wine is gooood) so after about 20 mins listening to the headphones we all feel fast asleep. We did wake up in time to take pictures of the important things and to beg the driver to let us stay on for another hour…the bus was just so warm! The rest of the trip was nice, the train ride was a good laugh and we spend some great hours at a few of the local bars and clubs. Of course the rather pathetic high of the trip was that our rooms came with cable TV….after months of no TV I got to watch CNN and MTV Austria (this is made up of some music videos, the Hogan show and Flavor Fav!)

School

School is going great still. The newness has worn off but I still love it. My class is defiantly made up of a bunch of characters. They have their good and bad days but they never fail to at making me laugh at least once a day. They picked up this strange habit of addressing me as Your Majesty, The Best Teacher in the World, or my personal favourite Ms. Hoeschen the Queen of Halloween. I want to point out that I did not encourage this or train them to do this. They must have done it last year as a joke in year two and one day they were being silly and addressed me as it, well it got such a good laugh out of me that they are still doing it …almost a month later! It still makes me giggle and they have come up with some rather long and impressive titles….if nothing else they are creative!

A few of my girls did a hula hoop dance to Hannah Montana during the assembly today that was just dear. I couldn’t have been more proud of them if they were my own children. There school work has been steadily improving as well…well not their spelling but then again I can’t really blame them for that!

Last week we celebrated Halloween with a class party where we all ate wayyyy to much sugar and a disco after school. I feel like I may have had more fun then some of the students, but as the youngest teacher I feel that it is my job to show the students how to party like rock stars…well just dance like rock stars!

Social Life

As always I’m keeping myself busy. I take Czech lessons once a week after school and I can finally start working out again this week after my hideous case of tonsillitis. I’m hoping to learn tennis and maybe even get back in to the pool….although the thought of chlorine still makes me shudder a bit

I’ve been going out dancing with the girls quite a bit lately here, which always cheers me up. Although, one of our favourite local singers announced on Sat that he’s going on holiday for quite a bit… I don’t know who we will dance to now!

I’ve had quite a few visitors lately and the onslaught isn’t going to ease up any time soon to my delight! Erika Jossart from home was here last week and coming up I have Sarah (who was here with me last time) and my aunt Anne! I can’t wait to see everyone from back home so keep on coming!


Really life has been going well. I still love it over here….even now when its starting to get colder! But I am missing everyone a ton so keep the messages and letters coming, they brighten my day considerably! Plus I’m pretty good at returning the favour!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb