Still here!


Advertisement
Czech Republic's flag
Europe » Czech Republic » Prague
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay I realize that it has been a really long time since I updated this blog…but I didn’t have internet until two days ago so I’m begging off just a bit. I hope you all feel special though because I’m writing this even in extreme pain….K well its not that bad of pain but my finger is pretty sore. Today being the genius that I am I was trying to staple some paper together and in the midst of trying to fix one of my three broken staplers I most defiantly stapled my poor pointer finger. I actually had to pull the staple out of my finger! It was gross and I wasn’t happy at all… plus I got blood on my newly cleaned desk! Now that I’m done being a drama queen I guess I can fill you all in on what I’ve been doing here.

School

School is going extremely well. I love my 17 second graders (or year 3). On Monday they sang the birdy song (yes the annoying one that I woke most of you up with at one time or another) at assembly and I couldn’t have been prouder. They also were class of the week, the very first week of school! You get this by lining up quietly and having a tidy cloak room. Of course they haven’t even been close to getting it since then but at least they got it once! I have a few characters in my class that make everyday interesting and I’m taking it as a compliment that quite a few teachers have come up to me and told me that my class has been doing better then they ever expected (I guess they were a bit notorious last year…well a few of them were at least). One of the best parts so far has been that during the first few weeks the children usually bring in small gifts for their teachers. I could become a florist with all the flowers I’ve received (perfect for my nonexistent green thumb!) and earlier this week I got two of the best presents ever! My twins (two of the cutest blond girls ever) brought me a coconut and some green grassy thing from the seaside resort that they vacation at from Nov to March every year. The coconut is in some hard green shell that I have no idea how to get into with out some heavy duty hammer…which I do not have and the green grassy stuff I’m supposed to chew plain (it tastes a bit like parsley and smells like lemon pledge. I tried it last night at my local pizzeria and the waitress thought that my friend and I were trying to eat one of the plastic plants that they had that looked eerily similar to my green plant things…I don’t think I can go back there any more

My Flat

I have the cutest little flat ever! It’s a studio apartment in the attic of a house that has been owned by my landlady’s family for hundreds of years. It’s small but it fits me and the occasional guest! I put pictures of it up on facebook and I will try to upload pictures of it up on here as well. I’m near a bunch of other teachers and really close to a tram (and night tram) line. I am also only a block or so away from the river and really close to two different parks that over look the city. I’m only about a ten minute tram ride out of the centre which is really nice. The rent is super cheep as well which is nice

The Night Life

Even writing this is making me thirsty for some of Prague’s famous pivo (beer). Similar to last time a bunch of the teachers regularly go out on the weekends for a few drinks. Of course since its so cheep here we also usually go out on school nights…but for a much reduced number of pivos! The weekends are always a blast though because there is always something to do here. I’ve been to music festivals galore and should I ever feel inspired enough to actually buy some tickets I could go to any number or operas, ballets, and theatre for dirt cheep (4 dollars to see Carmen!). So far I’ve just been hitting up the beer gardens though. I had a great birthday though. A bunch of us went out to my favorite Thai restraint and then to my favorite bar (bloody Freddy’s) where I drank far to much and sang far to loudly to my favorite singer Ian. I met Ian last time I was here when I would drunkly request Johnny Cash every single weekend that I saw him and I was more then a bit thrilled when he finally learned Ring of Fire in time for my birthday! After that I went dancing until the wee hours of the morning and that has been the reoccurring theme most weekends since then The best part of Prague is that the bars don’t close so you can stay out dancing until 5 or 6 in the morning if you want….and after a week of teaching all day that is usually just what I want!

In Closing

In general I am really happy here although I am missing all my friends and family back home like crazy! I can’t wait to hear from you all, call, email, message… anything I’d love to hear what’s going on back in the states! Love and miss you all!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb