Hvar's this for an island


Advertisement
Croatia's flag
Europe » Croatia » Dalmatia » Hvar
July 8th 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The puns are back! I know some of you must be very relieved that I got myself together before the trip ends.

Another day, another island. After a 5:30am wake up call to get on the ferry that is. After the instant unignorable relaxing atmosphere of Korcula, Hvar was quite a shock. I guess I should have expected as much given that it is apparently the island that all the rich and famous go to. Croatia´s Gold Coast? In the 70s of course back when the Gold Coast was actually trendy. Not that the hotspot memo had got to our accomodation, me and one of the girls on the tour shared our own private apartment, that seemed like it could be straight from the South Coast, complete with unrenovated 70s decor. It was very clean though, and most importantly it had air conditioning.

After a walk up a hill to yet another fortress, I felt I had earned a afternoon sitting on a yacht. And what a yacht it was, complete with brooding captain, who managed to sail the thing single handedly while we all sat around awkwardly. There is a nice Archipelago of islands just off Hvar, so we sailed around and through them, stopping for a swim and a plastic cup of wine.

The next day passed in a blur of beach and food, complete with dinner on an island with a donkey. Who says there is no wildlife in Europe!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Hvar alleyHvar alley
Hvar alley

Just when you thought the alley ways were over
Dinner on an islandDinner on an island
Dinner on an island

Very authentic
They love dolphins in CroatiaThey love dolphins in Croatia
They love dolphins in Croatia

The bottom is my super ugly but hilarious cheap beach towel, the above my sheets.


Tot: 4.91s; Tpl: 2.775s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.8492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb